Crane Block?


Rules Questions


What happens if someone using In Harm's Way were to also use Crane Wing?

Nothing? Awesomeness?


Alwaysafk wrote:

What happens if someone using In Harm's Way were to also use Crane Wing?

Nothing? Awesomeness?

You can't use the two together in normal circumstances. In Harm's Way requires you to use the Aid Another action (a standard action). Crane Wing requires you to be fighting defensively or using total defense (both standard actions).

In abnormal circumstances where you have two (or more) standard actions each round, I'd allow the awesomeness to happen.


Ah, but Bodyguard Lets you Aid Another as an attack of opportunity!


Alwaysafk wrote:
Ah, but Bodyguard Lets you Aid Another as an attack of opportunity!

Hermmm. Yes, well. Maybe. I don't know.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

By RAW, I dont see this working.

Crane Wing specifically states you can deflect an attack that would normally hit you. In Harm's Way does not cause you to be hit by an attack, you simply take the damage and effects.

That said, it would be a totally reasonable houserule to have this work the way it does intuitively.


KrispyXIV wrote:

By RAW, I dont see this working.

Crane Wing specifically states you can deflect an attack that would normally hit you. In Harm's Way does not cause you to be hit by an attack, you simply take the damage and effects.

That said, it would be a totally reasonable houserule to have this work the way it does intuitively.

In Harm's Way says you "intercept a successful attack against that ally" (hits you) then Crane Wing's "deflect one melee weapon attack that would normally hit you" would supersede the attack. Assuming it's done with a melee weapon.

Edit:

And how would this work with Come and Get Me? Does jumping in front of an attack make it against you?


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Alwaysafk wrote:
KrispyXIV wrote:

By RAW, I dont see this working.

Crane Wing specifically states you can deflect an attack that would normally hit you. In Harm's Way does not cause you to be hit by an attack, you simply take the damage and effects.

That said, it would be a totally reasonable houserule to have this work the way it does intuitively.

In Harm's Way says you "intercept a successful attack against that ally" (hits you) then Crane Wing's "deflect one melee weapon attack that would normally hit you" would supersede the attack. Assuming it's done with a melee weapon.

Edit:

And how would this work with Come and Get Me? Does jumping in front of an attack make it against you?

Again, I think thats a reasonable interpretation and a totally awesome houserule; the problem is the feat doesn't actually mention you being hit instead of the original target, you just suffer the damage. So by RAW, it should be a no go.

Come and Get Me: The damage roll against the barbarian gets the damage bonus (unless you roll damage before you use In Harm's Way, in which case the damage is set and wouldn't change... I think). It does not provoke an AOO, because the attack was not against the barbarian.


KrispyXIV wrote:

By RAW, I dont see this working.

Crane Wing specifically states you can deflect an attack that would normally hit you. In Harm's Way does not cause you to be hit by an attack, you simply take the damage and effects.

That said, it would be a totally reasonable houserule to have this work the way it does intuitively.

I did wonder that too but since Crane Wing doesn't specifically insist on only being used against attacks targetting and hitting the character with the feat, I'd probably allow it.


KrispyXIV wrote:


Again, I think thats a reasonable interpretation and a totally awesome houserule; the problem is the feat doesn't actually mention you being hit instead of the original target, you just suffer the damage. So by RAW, it should be a no go.

But doesn't it? "you can intercept a successful attack against that ally" Doesn't that mean the enemy would hit your ally, but you step in the way and take the hit? How else would you take damage?

I understand what you mean. It doesn't directly state "You are hit by the enemy attack roll instead of your ally" but it seems to imply it.

Silver Crusade

It burns at least 5 feats to do this. It works only against melee weapon attacks, and once a round. Strictly speaking, the wording does not go against it. Its not broken. I see no reason to disallow it.


Things to be aware of:

While using Total Defense you can't make Attacks of Opportunity. Personally, I think it sounds pretty sweet, but KrispyXIV has a point about In Harm's Way.

The attack actually doesn't hit you, it hits your ally and you suffer the damage. That's what the game mechanics are using to describe the intercept.

But, I think it might be fine to interpret the rule as it actually hits you instead. However, adding something like Come and Get Me will not work. The creature is not attacking you, even when you intercept it's attack, so Come and Get Me would not trigger.

That being said, this sounds like a really interesting idea and a cool interaction of abilities.


Thanks for the input guys. I decided to add a prevention tank to my hopper of characters that will never be. Fighter/Duelist. Crane Riposte, Crane Wing, Parry (which can be used to block damage on your allies), In Harm's Way, etc. Really just a fun build, even if it is a bit weak. Really bump the dex and make his AC all kinds of crazy...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Crane Block? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions