kaisc006
|
I haven't really used the brace feature. However, my new build for PFS focuses on the Nodachi and taunting your enemies into charging. Of course this brings in various metagame problems and questions about brace itself. I have searched the boards and can't find any defining answers for these questions. I'm searching for the most definitive answer possible so as not to get ruled down at a PFS game. Thanks!
1. What gets multiplied with "double damage"? Previously during multiple PFS games and homebrew I have seen the feat Spirited Charge allow STR damage to be multiplied as well. Just want to make sure this is correct.
2. When readying a brace, must you specify a "charging character" rather than "the first enemy to enter my threatened area I attack" in order to receive the brace bonus? It seems pretty lame that if you ready a brace, and they don't charge just move next to you, the attack doesn't go off... Of course you get no brace but not getting an attack makes no sense...
3. Can the enemy tell you are bracing with the Nodachi? What's interesting about the Nodachi is its brace feature isn't derived from physically bracing the weapon, but that it's designed to counter cavalry. So someone "bracing" the Nodachi is essentially just assuming a "high guard" or whatever stance with the sword which looks perfectly normal for a swordsman meeting their foe.
| Grick |
1. What gets multiplied with "double damage"?
Multiplying Damage: "Sometimes you multiply damage by some factor, such as on a critical hit. Roll the damage (with all modifiers) multiple times and total the results.
Note: When you multiply damage more than once, each multiplier works off the original, unmultiplied damage. So if you are asked to double the damage twice, the end result is three times the normal damage.
Exception: Extra damage dice over and above a weapon's normal damage are never multiplied."
Plain text: Multiply strength, bard song, enhancement, favored enemy, etc. Don't multiply sneak attack dice, flaming dice, frost dice, etc.
2. When readying a brace, must you specify a "charging character" rather than "the first enemy to enter my threatened area I attack" in order to receive the brace bonus? It seems pretty lame that if you ready a brace, and they don't charge just move next to you, the attack doesn't go off... Of course you get no brace but not getting an attack makes no sense...
Readying a Weapon against a Charge: "You can ready weapons with the brace feature, setting them to receive charges. A readied weapon of this type deals double damage if you score a hit with it against a charging character."
Brace: "If you use a readied action to set a brace weapon against a charge, you deal double damage on a successful hit against a charging character (see Combat)."
IMO: Readied to receive a charge is not readied to hit whoever I can. This is probably why I've never seen a brace used in any game.
3. Can the enemy tell you are bracing with the Nodachi? What's interesting about the Nodachi is its brace feature isn't derived from physically bracing the weapon, but that it's designed to counter cavalry. So someone "bracing" the Nodachi is essentially just assuming a "high guard" or whatever stance with the sword which looks perfectly normal for a swordsman meeting their foe.
I wouldn't let my monsters know about it, unless they're extremely tactically aware, had run into it before (literally), or unless they were cavalry or something and there was a huge line of guys standing on pikes. One samurai guy holding a funky sword and I'm still going to charge him.
| Bascaria |
I agree with everything Grick said, except for the never seeing the brace feature used.
I've seen it used to amazing effect before, particularly against cavalry. If you see a dude on a horse with a lance, you KNOW he is going to charge if he has the chance. A brace against that (particularly against the horse rather than the rider, in that situation) is devastating.
Also, charging is just generally better when you can do it. So if the enemy has a clear charge line, they likely will, and your brace will likely go off.
A good rule of thumb for crits and other multipliers is that any STATIC numerical bonus is going to be multiplied. Any bonus which adds VARIABLE dice is not going to be multiplied.
I also agree about the not letting the charger know about the brace unless he takes particular time to check for it, or is facing an obvious brace situation (e.g., heavy cavalry approaching a phalanx of spearmen).
Skerek
|
Initiatives: Me, buddy 1, big bad, rest of the party.
I braced my longspear against a charge. My buddy then spoiled it by charging the big bad himself (and spoiling the wizard's fireball opportunity). Bracing works best in a drilled unit.
It's one thing i'll never have in PFS... a team working together
| Stynkk |
2. When readying a brace, must you specify a "charging character" rather than "the first enemy to enter my threatened area I attack" in order to receive the brace bonus? It seems pretty lame that if you ready a brace, and they don't charge just move next to you, the attack doesn't go off... Of course you get no brace but not getting an attack makes no sense...
It certainly seems that under the Rules that there is a clear difference between "Readying a Weapon" and "Readying a Weapon vs a Charge (ie Bracing)".
However, due to the facts you've mentioned above and due to the sheer rarity of Brace being used *at all* if you pidgeon hole it in that way, many have come to rule that if your weapon is readied and the target you hit is charging then you get to use the brace.
See this thread here for a more in-depth discussion of the topic.
Brace should be a bonus, not a restriction.
3. Can the enemy tell you are bracing with the Nodachi? What's interesting about the Nodachi is its brace feature isn't derived from physically bracing the weapon, but that it's designed to counter cavalry. So someone "bracing" the Nodachi is essentially just assuming a "high guard" or whatever stance with the sword which looks perfectly normal for a swordsman meeting their foe.
No, the enemy (or players for that matter) should have no way of telling what action a character is readying. If they can tell then this amounts to a wasted action.
kaisc006
|
Multiplying Damage: "Sometimes you multiply damage by some factor, such as on a critical hit. Roll the damage (with all modifiers) multiple times and total the results.Plain text: Multiply strength, bard song, enhancement, favored enemy, etc. Don't multiply sneak attack dice, flaming dice, frost dice, etc.
Readying a Weapon against a Charge: "You can ready weapons with the brace feature, setting them to receive charges. A readied weapon of this type deals double damage if you score a hit with it against a charging character."
Brace: "If you use a readied action to set a brace weapon against a charge, you deal double damage on a successful hit against a charging character (see Combat)."
IMO: Readied to receive a charge is not readied to hit whoever I can. This is probably why I've never seen a brace used in any game.
This is great Grick thank you for the specific references! Yes I figured brace would be ruled so and will have to deal with possible metagame fallout. I just really hope to have a Samurai/Fighter who challenges foes, gets the higher initiative, and taunts them into a charge where he chops once. On that note, anyone know of a way to taunt foes mechanically? I hate relying so much on mechanics but in PFS it is necessary.
Also, charging is just generally better when you can do it. So if the enemy has a clear charge line, they likely will, and your brace will likely go off.
At lower levels yes, once the enemies gain multiple attacks no. By letting your opponent come to you, you get a full attack before he does.
It certainly seems that under the Rules that there is a clear difference between "Readying a Weapon" and "Readying a Weapon vs a Charge (ie Bracing)".
However, due to the facts you've mentioned above and due to the sheer rarity of Brace being used *at all* if you pidgeon hole it in that way, many have come to rule that if your weapon is readied and the target you hit is charging then you get to use the brace.
See this thread here for a more in-depth discussion of the topic.
I totally agree with your assesment on brace, but will have to use Grick's because it is PFS legal. Hopefully this gets addressed but doubtful.
It's one thing i'll never have in PFS... a team working together
You got that right buddy lol.