Calculating DC of Scrolls


Rules Questions


Guide to Organized Play says "All potions, scrolls, and wands are available only at minimum caster level..." (Pg. 19)

So if an 8th lvl Cleric with an 18 Wis uses a scroll of Sound Burst the DC for the save is what?

Is it 10+2 (Spell Lvl) + 1 (Min Ability to cast 2nd lvl spell is 12 therefore +1 modifer?)=DC 13?
Or do I use my modifier (+4) to =DC 16? The guide says min caster level not min modifier.

What would the DC be for a Scroll of Holy Smite?

Never played a caster in PFS and trying to figure some things out. Thanks for your help.

Liberty's Edge

Cfoot wrote:

Guide to Organized Play says "All potions, scrolls, and wands are available only at minimum caster level..." (Pg. 19)

So if an 8th lvl Cleric with an 18 Wis uses a scroll of Sound Burst the DC for the save is what?

Is it 10+2 (Spell Lvl) + 1 (Min Ability to cast 2nd lvl spell is 12 therefore +1 modifer?)=DC 13?
Or do I use my modifier (+4) to =DC 16? The guide says min caster level not min modifier.

What would the DC be for a Scroll of Holy Smite?

Never played a caster in PFS and trying to figure some things out. Thanks for your help.

Is it 10+2 (Spell Lvl) + 1 (Min Ability to cast 2nd lvl spell is 12 therefore +1 modifer?)=DC 13? THIS

there are some class features some where that lets you use your stat, but cant remember right now

Grand Lodge

Cfoot wrote:

Guide to Organized Play says "All potions, scrolls, and wands are available only at minimum caster level..." (Pg. 19)

So if an 8th lvl Cleric with an 18 Wis uses a scroll of Sound Burst the DC for the save is what?

Is it 10+2 (Spell Lvl) + 1 (Min Ability to cast 2nd lvl spell is 12 therefore +1 modifer?)=DC 13?
Or do I use my modifier (+4) to =DC 16? The guide says min caster level not min modifier.

What would the DC be for a Scroll of Holy Smite?

Never played a caster in PFS and trying to figure some things out. Thanks for your help.

You don't use your caster level or ability score modifier because the magic has already been crafted into the item. It has the same effect for everyone. The Core Rulebook specifies that potions, scrolls and wands use the modifier for the minimum ability score that the creator's class would need to cast the spell.

However, staves do apply the user's ability score, caster level (if higher) and any relevant feats.

DC 13 for sound burst is correct.

Holy smite is a 4th level cleric spell. A cleric would need WIS 14 (+2 modifier) to cast it. DC 10 + 4 + 2 = 16

Shadow Lodge

Starglim wrote:
You don't use your caster level or ability score modifier because the magic has already been crafted into the item. It has the same effect for everyone.

Not quite everyone. Alchemists have things they can do with potions, increase caster level, extend, etc. And I know at least one bard archetype that can increase the caster level of healing items a number of times per day. So there are exceptions to the rule.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Calculating DC of Scrolls All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions