| Grick |
Will Truestrike work with a Disarming attack with a whip?
True Strike: "Your next single attack roll (if it is made before the end of the next round) gains a +20 insight bonus."
Performing a Combat Maneuver: "When you attempt to perform a combat maneuver, make an attack roll and add your CMB in place of your normal attack bonus. Add any bonuses you currently have on attack rolls due to spells, feats, and other effects. These bonuses must be applicable to the weapon or attack used to perform the maneuver."
nosig
|
nosig wrote:Will Truestrike work with a Disarming attack with a whip?True Strike: "Your next single attack roll (if it is made before the end of the next round) gains a +20 insight bonus."
Performing a Combat Maneuver: "When you attempt to perform a combat maneuver, make an attack roll and add your CMB in place of your normal attack bonus. Add any bonuses you currently have on attack rolls due to spells, feats, and other effects. These bonuses must be applicable to the weapon or attack used to perform the maneuver."
So, I think that would be a "Yes"?
| Muzzy |
Will Truestrike work with a Disarming attack with a whip?
Yes, it will work with a whip or any other weapon you attempt a disarm with... including an untrained unarmed strike.
However it is a +20, not a natural 20. So you're not getting an automatic success. And a natural 1 will still automatically fail, even with the +20 insight bonus.
nosig
|
thanks everyone...
Ah, Muzzy, if a nat 1 is always a failure, is a nat. 20 always a success?
I'd hate to have my barbarian get disarmed by a gang of tiny blind gerbils, just because one of them rolled a 20. Perhaps this is the reasoning behind the spell Swarm of Monkeys (I have not looked it up and I know very little about this spell other than the name, and the fact that it sounds cool. I want to glyph trap a barrel with that spell!)
| Sniggevert |
Ah, Muzzy, if a nat 1 is always a failure, is a nat. 20 always a success?I'd hate to have my barbarian get disarmed by a gang of tiny blind gerbils, just because one of them rolled a 20...
A nat. 20 is always going to be a success for disarm, since it takes the place of an attack roll. The nat. 20 always hits and the nat. 1 always misses...so 'ware those gerbils hunting in packs, blind or not. (Of course the blind ones still have the 50% failure chance due to concealment =p)
nosig
|
nosig wrote:A nat. 20 is always going to be a success for disarm, since it takes the place of an attack roll. The nat. 20 always hits and the nat. 1 always misses...so 'ware those gerbils hunting in packs, blind or not. (Of course the blind ones still have the 50% failure chance due to concealment =p)
Ah, Muzzy, if a nat 1 is always a failure, is a nat. 20 always a success?I'd hate to have my barbarian get disarmed by a gang of tiny blind gerbils, just because one of them rolled a 20...
ARG! Curses, foiled again! (lol!)
ok, works for me. I need to buy a bunch of gerbils and start training them. Or research the spell, "summon disarming gerbil swarm".
Jiggy
RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32
|
A nat. 20 is always going to be a success for disarm, since it takes the place of an attack roll.
If you'll indulge a bit of nitpicking, it's not because of taking the place of an attack roll that a disarm auto-succeeds on a 20. It's because the rules for combat maneuvers say so explicitly.