Magus with Spellstrike + Spell Storing weapon enhncement.


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

This came up in my game this past week:

They found a Spell Storing Scimitar, snce the Magus in my party focuses in them he used it. At the time it was empty and he cast a Vampiric Touch into it.

Later they were fighting the "Boss" of the dungeon they were in and he used an Intesified Shocking Grasp and Spellstrike. He also managed to crit with it. He then asked if he could use the Vampiric Touch at the same time.

At the time I said yes, but it raised more questions.

Is this actually possible?

Does the stored spell crit too?

If he were to have used his Empower or Maximize Arcana would it have affected the stored spell too?

Any answers please site sources, id like to be able to show my players the exact wording so as not to seem like I'm just saying whatever with no back-up beyond "I'm the GM."

Thanks in advance

Grand Lodge

In order...

Yes.

No. since there is no attack roll involved in it's discharge, it's an immediate decision right after you strike.

No. the Arcana only affect spells you cast, not spells from a device.

Just look up the relevant rules under Magus and the spellstoring item.

Also remember one thing. As an old-school GM, it's my sincere contention that "I'm the GM" is all the justification you need.

Good players will accept this. Cheese monkeying rules lawyers will argue no matter what text you cite. Hopefully your players are closer to the former group.


Belarias wrote:

This came up in my game this past week:

They found a Spell Storing Scimitar, snce the Magus in my party focuses in them he used it. At the time it was empty and he cast a Vampiric Touch into it.

Later they were fighting the "Boss" of the dungeon they were in and he used an Intesified Shocking Grasp and Spellstrike. He also managed to crit with it. He then asked if he could use the Vampiric Touch at the same time.

At the time I said yes, but it raised more questions.

Is this actually possible?

Does the stored spell crit too?

If he were to have used his Empower or Maximize Arcana would it have affected the stored spell too?

Any answers please site sources, id like to be able to show my players the exact wording so as not to seem like I'm just saying whatever with no back-up beyond "I'm the GM."

Thanks in advance

The answer seems to be yes... The SRD for spell storing says upon a successful hit that does damage the spell can be released as a immediate action. So the spell would go off. However the metsmagic only effects the shocking grasp spell. As for the crit, It may or may not apply depending on you. Raw states touch attacks that require a roll beifit from a crit, spellstoring does not say anything. So that is your call.

For references check the PRD Magic Weapon Spellstoring, and for touch attacks reference touch spells in the PRD.

Hope that helps.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus with Spellstrike + Spell Storing weapon enhncement. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions