Power Attacking with a double weapon


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

General question: Since double weapons are wielded in two hands when attacking with both ends, if you Power Attack while TWF, do you get the -1/+3 benefit as if it was two handed? If so, does it apply to both ends?

Specific question: I'm in the midst of converting Curse of the Crimson Throne into Pathfinder for my home group, and I'm working on Krojun right now. Krojun has a feat called Thunder and Fang which allows him to dual wield an Earth Breaker (a normally two-handed weapon) with a Klar, treating them as a double weapon. What bonuses does he use when he Power Attacks with this combination?


Revan wrote:

General question: Since double weapons are wielded in two hands when attacking with both ends, if you Power Attack while TWF, do you get the -1/+3 benefit as if it was two handed? If so, does it apply to both ends?

Specific question: I'm in the midst of converting Curse of the Crimson Throne into Pathfinder for my home group, and I'm working on Krojun right now. Krojun has a feat called Thunder and Fang which allows him to dual wield an Earth Breaker (a normally two-handed weapon) with a Klar, treating them as a double weapon. What bonuses does he use when he Power Attacks with this combination?

"A character can fight with both ends of a double weapon as if fighting with two weapons, but he incurs all the normal attack penalties associated with two-weapon combat, just as though the character were wielding a one-handed weapon and a light weapon. The character can also choose to use a double weapon two-handed, attacking with only one end of it."

Using both ends is equivalent to 2 one handed weapons and so no you would not get the benefit of a 2H weapon.

As for the specific question it would be the same as using a double weapon.


Using both ends of a double weapon, it for all purposes count as two weapon fighting with the 'off' end being light.

So If you just swing the earth breaker

-1 to hit, +3 damage, as THW with power attack.

If you have use the klar:

-1 to hit with both, +2 damage with the earth breaker, +1 with the klar, as two weapon fighting with power attack. The earth breaker would also only get 1x str bonus, and the klar .5 str bonus.

(plus the -2 TWF penalty... assuming you have TWF)

Fighting with the Earth Breaker and the Klar might mess up some two handed weapon feats or abilities, so keep that in mind. It'll either count as two-weapon fighting or two-handed weapon fighting, but never both at the same time.


Thunder_Child wrote:
Using both ends is equivalent to 2 one handed weapons and so no you would not get the benefit of a 2H weapon.

Not quite sure about that.

"A character can fight with both ends of a double weapon as if fighting with two weapons, but he incurs all the normal attack penalties associated with two-weapon combat, just as though the character were wielding a one-handed weapon and a light weapon. The character can also choose to use a double weapon two-handed, attacking with only one end of it."

It says specifically attack penalties, it doesn't say anything about damage. It's a two handed weapon, it deals damage as a two handed weapon which is strength and a half.

Liberty's Edge

Roshan wrote:
Thunder_Child wrote:
Using both ends is equivalent to 2 one handed weapons and so no you would not get the benefit of a 2H weapon.

Not quite sure about that.

"A character can fight with both ends of a double weapon as if fighting with two weapons, but he incurs all the normal attack penalties associated with two-weapon combat, just as though the character were wielding a one-handed weapon and a light weapon. The character can also choose to use a double weapon two-handed, attacking with only one end of it."

It says specifically attack penalties, it doesn't say anything about damage. It's a two handed weapon, it deals damage as a two handed weapon which is strength and a half.

From your own quote:

"The character can also choose to use a double weapon two-handed, attacking with only one end of it."

If you're using it two-handed and getting the two-handed benefits, you're only attacking with one end.

The advantage double weapons have in that regard is the ability to switch between the two uses, getting the two-handed benefits on rounds when you only get one attack (surprise rounds, rounds, you have to move, attacks of opportunity) while getting the TWF benefits when you have a full-attack action available. It's very nearly the best of both worlds.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Power Attacking with a double weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions