Quickened spells


Rules Questions


I have a question about quickened spells and how they functions in combat.
A quickened spell (or any action that provoke and became a swift action) still provoke?
Someone can prepare a standard action to interrupt a swift spell (or a quickened one)?


AlecStorm wrote:
A quickened spell (or any action that provoke and became a swift action) still provoke?

Quicken Spell (Metamagic): "Casting a quickened spell doesn't provoke an attack of opportunity."

AlecStorm wrote:
Someone can prepare a standard action to interrupt a swift spell (or a quickened one)?

Good question.

Distracting Spellcasters: You can ready an attack against a spellcaster with the trigger "if she starts casting a spell." If you damage the spellcaster, she may lose the spell she was trying to cast (as determined by her Spellcraft check result).

Since it doesn't say that Quicken cannot be interrupted (only that it doesn't provoke) then I would say yes, you can ready to interrupt a swift (or immediate!) action spell. Someone may find something that changes my mind, though, so ask your DM.


I'm my DM :) I would permit to interrupt, till some faq will explain better in future.


Oh, since a quickened spell don't provoke, I suppose that a spell that is already a swift or immediate casting time should not provoke the same.


AlecStorm wrote:
Oh, since a quickened spell don't provoke, I suppose that a spell that is already a swift or immediate casting time should not provoke the same.

Casting Time: "A spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't count against your normal limit of one spell per round. However, you may cast such a spell only once per round. Casting a spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity."

I can't find anything that specifically says immediate, but:

Immediate Actions: "Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn."

I think that would make it not provoke, as it's the same as using a swift action out-of-turn.


Tank you.

Owner - House of Books and Games LLC

Unless it's a ranged touch attack.

Jason has a particular dislike for ranged touch attacks. He thinks they're overpowered, so he specifically ruled that any quickened ranged touch spell is a ranged attack and does provoke an attack of opportunity, even though in every other case the specific rule (in this case Quicken Spell) would override the general rule (missile combat while engaged in melee).


gbonehead wrote:
any quickened ranged touch spell is a ranged attack and does provoke an attack of opportunity, even though in every other case the specific rule (in this case Quicken Spell) would override the general rule (missile combat while engaged in melee).

Quickening makes the spellcasting not provoke, much like defensive casting does. In both cases the RTA still provokes.

Ranged Touch Spells in Combat: "Ranged touch attacks provoke an attack of opportunity, even if the spell that causes the attacks was cast defensively."


This is ok. It's not casting the spell that provoke, but firing in melee.


Good information above!

Owner - House of Books and Games LLC

Grick wrote:
gbonehead wrote:
any quickened ranged touch spell is a ranged attack and does provoke an attack of opportunity, even though in every other case the specific rule (in this case Quicken Spell) would override the general rule (missile combat while engaged in melee).

Quickening makes the spellcasting not provoke, much like defensive casting does. In both cases the RTA still provokes.

Ranged Touch Spells in Combat: "Ranged touch attacks provoke an attack of opportunity, even if the spell that causes the attacks was cast defensively."

Yep. Which was a change specifically made in Pathfinder because of the opinion that quickened ranged touch spells were too powerful :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Quickened spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions