| WRoy |
| 2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Sticky Strike (Su): As a standard action, you can attempt a ranged touch attack with a sticky tendril against a target up to 15 feet away, then use the pull universal monster ability to pull the target 5 feet toward you. You gain a bonus on the pull's combat maneuver check equal to 1/2 your druid level. If the target is larger than you, you may pull yourself 5 feet toward the target without making a check. The target can remove the tendril by making an opposed Strength check as a standard action, or by dealing enough slashing damage to the tendril (hit points equal to your druid level, Armor Class equal to your touch Armor Class). You can dissolve the tendril as a free action. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.
How precisely does this druid domain ability work? Most of it is relatively straightforward, but there is no duration listed nor is it clear to me how the tendril operates after the initial strike and 5' pull.
I take a standard action to make a ranged touch attack out to 15'. If it hits, I get a free combat maneuver check with CMB of (BAB+Str mod+1/2 drd lvl) to pull target of my size or smaller 5' closer or can automatically pull myself 5' closer to a target larger than myself. After that, I have the following questions:
- Duration: The ability lists methods for the target to remove or break the tendril. Does this mean the tendril lasts until one of those conditions happens? Can I dismiss the tendril?
- Target's movement limitations: Is the target's movement limited in any way when a tendril is attached? If I pull it to 10' away from me, can it move further away? Can it move outside the tendril's max range of 15' and if it does so is the tendril dispelled?
I looked over the roper description to see if any creature with the pull ability explained things more clearly, but that didn't help.
Jiggy
RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32
|
Wait a second, are you the guy who was discussing this with Ryan Bolduan yesterday after playing Midnight Mauler? Or is this just a really big coincidence?
Well, anyway, on to your questions:
The ability lists methods for the target to remove or break the tendril. Does this mean the tendril lasts until one of those conditions happens? Can I dismiss the tendril?
The easiest question is about dismissing it: the description you quoted says (near the end) that you can dissolve the strand as a free action. So that's one question down.
Now, the first question. It's always possible that it was just overlooked, but since it doesn't list a duration and it describes the creation of material, I think we're left with no choice but to assume that it's still there until dealt with.
Is the target's movement limited in any way when a tendril is attached? If I pull it to 10' away from me, can it move further away? Can it move outside the tendril's max range of 15' and if it does so is the tendril dispelled?
Once again the rules (as you noticed) are not explicit about this. However, the bit about how a creature can get rid of the tendril implies that there would be some reason to do so - meaning that it affects them in some way after the initial pull. Thus, I think the most reasonable interpretation of intent is that the tendril is still attached, and if they want to move further away from you they have to either cut it or succeed on the opposed STR check to break it. I can't think of any other reasonable interpretation, and this seems like the likely intent.
All that said, I don't feel very confident about the lack of a duration. I feel skeptical about thinking that they intended you to be able to stick a wall 15' away, cut off both ends, and repeat a few times, tie the strands together, and start rapelling down a 70' cliff. So although there's nothing clearly prohibiting that, I recommend not relying on it (i.e., buy some traditional rope) and just get in the habit of dismissing it when you're done. Also, I'll click the FAQ button for you.
| WRoy |
Wait a second, are you the guy who was discussing this with Ryan Bolduan yesterday after playing Midnight Mauler? Or is this just a really big coincidence?
Maaaaaybe. :P
The easiest question is about dismissing it: the description you quoted says (near the end) that you can dissolve the strand as a free action. So that's one question down.
Awesome, thanks. Don't know how I missed that line.
Now, the first question. It's always possible that it was just overlooked, but since it doesn't list a duration and it describes the creation of material, I think we're left with no choice but to assume that it's still there until dealt with.Once again the rules (as you noticed) are not explicit about this. However, the bit about how a creature can get rid of the tendril implies that there would be some reason to do so - meaning that it affects them in some way after the initial pull. Thus, I think the most reasonable interpretation of intent is that the tendril is still attached, and if they want to move further away from you they have to either cut it or succeed on the opposed STR check to break it. I can't think of any other reasonable interpretation, and this seems like the likely intent.
All that said, I don't feel very confident about the lack of a duration. I feel skeptical about thinking that they intended you to be able to stick a wall 15' away, cut off both ends, and repeat a few times, tie the strands together, and start rapelling down a 70' cliff. So although there's nothing clearly prohibiting that, I recommend not relying on it (i.e., buy some traditional rope) and just get in...
That mirrors most of my thoughts as well. The whole, "cut them off and make a giant sticky rope," would be circumvented by the supernatural strand effect probably ending the instant it was broken or severed.