Are Saving Throws Noticeable?


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

There are obvious cases where an effect is noticeable whether or not a save is successful (although, "Ooh, gee, I just saw a ball of fire erupt around me and I only took half damage. It was probably nothing..." would be funny). What about more subtle cases? Things like Suggestion or Charm Person, for example. Or is this just something each GM decides for his own game?

I'll admit my search ability is limited by my current location but I didn't see anything in the core rules (in th saving throws section), pfsrd or in my quick search of the message boards so if this is answered elsewhere, I'd appreciate a link.

Thanks!


I can't point you to a rule book and page, but would assume that a character would know when they are the target for an attack, including mental attacks. When you are actively using Will to resist a mental assault, you should be aware you are under attack.

Sovereign Court

Thac20 wrote:
I can't point you to a rule book and page, but would assume that a character would know when they are the target for an attack, including mental attacks. When you are actively using Will to resist a mental assault, you should be aware you are under attack.

Yeah... I'm having this mental argument about that, too. Sometimes, it just seems so subtle. A succubus can use Suggestion at-will, for example. If its noticeable, she loses some of her oomph (well... I suppose there's still oomphing but that's a separate subject).

Or a bard's ability to Fascinate... or most of the subsequent abilities he can use on a previously Fascinated creature...

From a story perspective, it just doesn't seem right that someone would come away from a performance with a feeling like they resisted something.... much as some bad performances might actually SEEM like an attack (see: the Battlefield Earth movie).


(Deleted post bc post after mine proves me wrong!)


Saving Throw "...Succeeding on a Saving Throw: A creature that successfully saves against a spell that has no obvious physical effects feels a hostile force or a tingle, but cannot deduce the exact nature of the attack. Likewise, if a creature's saving throw succeeds against a targeted spell, you sense that the spell has failed. You do not sense when creatures succeed on saves against effect and area spells."

Sovereign Court

David Thomassen wrote:
Saving Throw "...Succeeding on a Saving Throw: A creature that successfully saves against a spell that has no obvious physical effects feels a hostile force or a tingle, but cannot deduce the exact nature of the attack. Likewise, if a creature's saving throw succeeds against a targeted spell, you sense that the spell has failed. You do not sense when creatures succeed on saves against effect and area spells."

Well, that's that. Thanks, David.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Furthermore, you can identify a spell that just targeted you with a successful Knowledge (arcana) check, DC 25 + spell level.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Are Saving Throws Noticeable? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions