Miserable Pity and hexes


Rules Questions


When reading the Pathfinder Guide to Witches and it's corresponding discussion I see that the general opinion seems to be that you can use hexes while under the effect of miserable pity. I assume that this includes attack hexes, in which case I don't quite understand why. Miserable pity states that the spell functions like sanctuary, which in turn says that "[t]he subject cannot attack without breaking the spell but may use nonattack spells or otherwise act". To me this seems to imply that attack hexes, like evil eye, would break the spell. Am I missing something here?


Not sure.

Hexes are Su abilities though, not "spells", so that might be part of the final answer.


evilash wrote:
When reading the Pathfinder Guide to Witches and it's corresponding discussion I see that the general opinion seems to be that you can use hexes while under the effect of miserable pity. I assume that this includes attack hexes, in which case I don't quite understand why. Miserable pity states that the spell functions like sanctuary, which in turn says that "[t]he subject cannot attack without breaking the spell but may use nonattack spells or otherwise act". To me this seems to imply that attack hexes, like evil eye, would break the spell. Am I missing something here?

Anyone have an answer to this question?

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I think it comes down to what one thinks a non-attack is. I think obviously anything that causes damage is a attack. Now things like evil eye gets interesting. I could see it going either way. I am not sure Paizo has a decision for this or not.

Liberty's Edge

You may look and see if there's any rulings about what breaks invisibility. (Attacks break so if its been ruled there. . .)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Miserable Pity and hexes All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.