Overhand Chop Explanation


Rules Questions


4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I'm sorry if this has been covered, but I couldn't find discussion of this with a search:

The Two handed Fighter archetype ability overhand chop says that it adds twice the fighter's strength to one attack. Does this mean:

A: That the two handed weapon adds the double strength bonus -instead- of the usual one and a half times strength bonus to the attack (2d6+6 becomes 2d6+8), or

B: That the two handed weapon adds the double strength bonus -in addition to- the usual one and a half times stength bonus to the attack (2d6+6 becomes 2d6+14)?

Your assistance would be appreciated.


I`m 100% certain that it is INSTEAD of the normal STR damage bonus.
Note that the standard wording for 2-handed weapons (Combat and Equipment Chapters)
ALSO doesn`t say `instead`, so the same `issue` applies there... All should be Errata`d but until then...

Pretend it says `INSTEAD`!!!


Nunya Bidness wrote:

I'm sorry if this has been covered, but I couldn't find discussion of this with a search:

A: That the two handed weapon adds the double strength bonus -instead- of the usual one and a half times strength bonus to the attack (2d6+6 becomes 2d6+8), or

As Quandary says, it's "A". 2x instead of 1.5x Str.

Here is a post from the guy who wrote it explaining.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Overhand Chop Explanation All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.