Confusion Bombs


Rules Questions


So with the Confusion Bomb discovery, it deals 2d6 less damage, and the target of a direct hit is confused, as per the spell.

Do you need to designate which bombs are Confusion bombs at the beginning of the day? The energy bombs note that you must do this, but not Confusion. Can you decide a bomb is going to be confusing as you throw it?

More importantly, do bomb effects stack? Like, can you throw a confusing frost bomb at fiery outsiders?

What's the DC of the spell? Is it 14+Intelligence Mod?


joeyfixit wrote:

So with the Confusion Bomb discovery, it deals 2d6 less damage, and the target of a direct hit is confused, as per the spell.

Do you need to designate which bombs are Confusion bombs at the beginning of the day? The energy bombs note that you must do this, but not Confusion. Can you decide a bomb is going to be confusing as you throw it?

More importantly, do bomb effects stack? Like, can you throw a confusing frost bomb at fiery outsiders?

What's the DC of the spell? Is it 14+Intelligence Mod?

1) By my reading, bombs are created on the fly since they are unstable; you should be able to designate which bombs are confusion bombs on an as-needed basis, not at the beginning of the day.

2) Confusion bombs effects do not stack; the discoveries marked with asterisks do not stack, but rather replace the default bomb effect.

3) DC is as for any discovery: 10+1/2 alchemists level+INT modifier.


JohnLocke wrote:


2) Confusion bombs effects do not stack; the discoveries marked with asterisks do not stack, but rather replace the default bomb effect.

Oddly enough, I don't see an asterisk with Confusion bomb. But there is one for Frost. I don't see why you couldn't throw a Confusing Frost bomb, according to RAW. If you only prepared Frost Bombs, or only had Frost bombs left, why couldn't you make it Confusing, since that effect is thrown on as-needed?

The alternative is that it reverts to flame damage, in which case a DM that throws Ice Elementals at me when I only prepared Frost Bombs is going to call shenanigans if I change their energy type by making them Confusing.


be aware this bomb is missing something like target gets a will save vs confusion. your GM will need to houes rule it to keep it reasonable.

otherwise its beyond broken ;)


Phasics wrote:

be aware this bomb is missing something like target gets a will save vs confusion. your GM will need to houes rule it to keep it reasonable.

otherwise its beyond broken ;)

I disagree. It says the target is "under the effect of a confusion spell". The spell tells you about the will save. Putting that in the description for the bomb seems like overkill.

What's nice is that the DC levels as you do, rather than staying the same level and only increasing if you increase your ability mod. Which I had overlooked - thanks Locke!


joeyfixit wrote:
Phasics wrote:

be aware this bomb is missing something like target gets a will save vs confusion. your GM will need to houes rule it to keep it reasonable.

otherwise its beyond broken ;)

I disagree. It says the target is "under the effect of a confusion spell". The spell tells you about the will save. Putting that in the description for the bomb seems like overkill.

the spell also tells you you hit everyone in a 15ft burst radius, that you need a material component and that it allows spell resistance. But you only apply the will save ?

the discovery just says apply the effect of a confusion spell and the effect is "confused".


joeyfixit wrote:
JohnLocke wrote:


2) Confusion bombs effects do not stack; the discoveries marked with asterisks do not stack, but rather replace the default bomb effect.

Oddly enough, I don't see an asterisk with Confusion bomb. But there is one for Frost. I don't see why you couldn't throw a Confusing Frost bomb, according to RAW. If you only prepared Frost Bombs, or only had Frost bombs left, why couldn't you make it Confusing, since that effect is thrown on as-needed?

The alternative is that it reverts to flame damage, in which case a DM that throws Ice Elementals at me when I only prepared Frost Bombs is going to call shenanigans if I change their energy type by making them Confusing.

I'm not sure what you're using as a source, but the book, pdf, pfsrd, and prd all have the confusion discovery marked with an asterisk, so that should probably be your definitive answer.


Phasics wrote:
joeyfixit wrote:
Phasics wrote:

be aware this bomb is missing something like target gets a will save vs confusion. your GM will need to houes rule it to keep it reasonable.

otherwise its beyond broken ;)

I disagree. It says the target is "under the effect of a confusion spell". The spell tells you about the will save. Putting that in the description for the bomb seems like overkill.

the spell also tells you you hit everyone in a 15ft burst radius, that you need a material component and that it allows spell resistance. But you only apply the will save ?

the discovery just says apply the effect of a confusion spell and the effect is "confused".

"A creature that takes a direct hit from a confusion bomb takes damage from the bomb and is under the effect of a confusion spell for 1 round per caster level of the alchemist."

Never said I "only" apply the will save. The discovery explicitly states that it only affects the target of a direct hit. It doesn't say that the target is "confused", but is under the effect of a confusion spell, which has a will save and a table to roll to determine effects, both of which would seem to apply to the bomb. Duration, AoE, and DC of the Save are different because the alchemist is not a caster;since the discovery makes no mention of a will save, I think we can safely assume that there is one per the spell.

JohnLocke wrote:


I'm not sure what you're using as a source, but the book, pdf, pfsrd, and prd all have the confusion discovery marked with an asterisk, so that should probably be your definitive answer.

Where I'm looking is the PFSRD, which has no asterisk next to Confusion Bomb. There is, however, an asterisk next to Concussive Bomb, which is right next to it. A quick look at Paizo's PRD...

... huh. Guess the d20 needs an edit.

Good catch, Locke.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Confusion Bombs All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions