Death's Embrace ability


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Are the RAI so that you can heal with all your own channels assuming you're channelling to harm the enemy?

Would you also heal if channelling to harm outsiders or elemental?


Anyone?


Ya that is a good question. in a guide i just read, this guy is saying that a lvl 8 cleric who channels negative energy and has Death's Embrace can hold off a bunch of ogres while his companions are occupied elsewhere, because of "6d6 damage to ogres within 30 feet, and 6d6 healing to himself". From what i understand, death's embrace will only heal you when you use negative energy to heal undead, when targeted this way, it won't harm the ogres. He could channel 2 per round with quicken channel, but that would mean using 3 channels every round. You might last 3 rounds this way before you run out.

But Death's embrace also says "you heal damage instead of taking damage from channeled negative energy." which would imply that you would heal when using your negative energy channel ability to harm the living. Since the cleric can always choose if he is effected by his own channeling or not. which means that the cleric could damage the ogres and heal himself at the same time with one use of the channel ability.

I'd like to know which scenario is the right one when using channeled negative energy in conjunction with Death's Embrace.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Death's Embrace ability All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.