Dominate Rules Question


Rules Questions


I know that spells (for example buffs like enlarge person, bulls strength etc.) do not expire upon the casters death.

What about dominate person / monster? If a vampire has dominated a player character and commanded it to kill its companions (to flee at full speed) and the rest of the party manages to slay the vampire - does the dominated character continue to fight (flee)?


Dominate Person wrote:

You can control the actions of any humanoid creature through a telepathic link that you establish with the subject's mind.

...
Once control is established, the range at which it can be exercised is unlimited, as long as you and the subject are on the same plane.

I believe this implies that you cannot control the dominated person if you're dead -i.e. both incapable of mental exercise and being on another plane.

As a vampire's dominate is directly compared to the spell, I'd say that upon the vampire's destruction, this link ends.


Of course: a Vampires dominate ability and the spell work the same.

The thing is that you do not have to control the creature all the time - you can give a command:

Quote:


Once you have given a dominated creature a command, it continues to attempt to carry out that command to the exclusion of all other activities except those necessary for day-to-day survival (such as sleeping, eating, and so forth).

The question is: Is the command obeyed even if the dominator is dead?


Hyla wrote:

Of course: a Vampires dominate ability and the spell work the same.

The thing is that you do not have to control the creature all the time - you can give a command:

Quote:


Once you have given a dominated creature a command, it continues to attempt to carry out that command to the exclusion of all other activities except those necessary for day-to-day survival (such as sleeping, eating, and so forth).

The question is: Is the command obeyed even if the dominator is dead?

We have always played it that way. A lot of fights end with us subduing a companion and hoping the Break Enchantment works.


Hyla wrote:

Of course: a Vampires dominate ability and the spell work the same.

The thing is that you do not have to control the creature all the time - you can give a command:

Quote:


Once you have given a dominated creature a command, it continues to attempt to carry out that command to the exclusion of all other activities except those necessary for day-to-day survival (such as sleeping, eating, and so forth).

The question is: Is the command obeyed even if the dominator is dead?

Still, I'd say that the link is necessary for the commanded creature to carry on with the command. If the dominator dies, the dominated 'wakes up'. At least, that's how I would rule it, were it my option. I guess it's one of the things that are in the GM's hands :p


Lanassa wrote:
I guess it's one of the things that are in the GM's hands :p

This is, for me, not satisfactory. This can decide if an encounter just was a close call or a TPK. I would very much like to have an official ruling on this.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Read the Dominate spell. The dominated creature continues to carry out the last given order. However after 24 hours-ish, since the dominator is no longer alive and can't spend that 1 round a day concentrating on the dominated creature, the link breaks.

So while RAW the spell continues until the duration expires, and the creature continues to carry out the last given order, depending on how long the creature is dominated the GM does have some leeway to say that the link will break because the Vampire was unable to maintain the mental link.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

"kill your friends" should require a constant mental struggle with the dominator, and if the dominator isn't there to keep pushing the mental command the person should break free.


meatrace wrote:

Read the Dominate spell. The dominated creature continues to carry out the last given order. However after 24 hours-ish, since the dominator is no longer alive and can't spend that 1 round a day concentrating on the dominated creature, the link breaks.

Thats right, but also:

Quote:


Subjects resist this control, and any subject forced to take actions against its nature receives a new saving throw with a +2 bonus.

But I guess this is only once, when the command is given.


Hyla wrote:


Quote:


Subjects resist this control, and any subject forced to take actions against its nature receives a new saving throw with a +2 bonus.

But I guess this is only once, when the command is given.

Precisely. I had assumed you were beyond that point.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Hyla wrote:

I know that spells (for example buffs like enlarge person, bulls strength etc.) do not expire upon the casters death.

What about dominate person / monster? If a vampire has dominated a player character and commanded it to kill its companions (to flee at full speed) and the rest of the party manages to slay the vampire - does the dominated character continue to fight (flee)?

Death does not end the spell. The creature would follow the last command given. Once the last command is completed the creature should be able to do as it pleases.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dominate Rules Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.