| joeyfixit |
The description says, "When the alchemist activates the extract, he actually throws the bottle at a square within 30 feet, releasing the ooze, which reconstitutes and attacks the closest creature."
So if this is like the Splash Weapon rules, then one could throw it at a blank square or intersection, which has an AC of 5.
Now-
If one chooses to throw, let's say, a Gelatinous Cube directly at a creature and misses, presumably one does rolls the d8 and adds the range increment and the ooze reconstitutes in that new square. But if it hits, then what happens? Does the ooze get to automatically engulf this target, assuming they fail their reflex save?
What if the cube is thrown at an intersection with four adjacent medium creatures? Do they all get a save DC? What if more than one fails? Can a Gelatinous Cube engulf more than one creature in a round?
| Grick |
If one chooses to throw, let's say, a Gelatinous Cube directly at a creature
Bottled Ooze: "When the alchemist activates the extract, he actually throws the bottle at a square within 30 feet..."
Target is a square, not a creature. Miss like normal.
Does the ooze get to automatically engulf this target, assuming they fail their reflex save?
Hrm. I -think- that since it's the alchemist's turn, and it acts like a summoned creature, that it would act immediately on your turn, where it could then spend it's standard action to attempt to engulf.
Can a Gelatinous Cube engulf more than one creature in a round?
Yep: Gelatinous Cube: "The gelatinous cube merely has to move over the opponents, affecting as many as it can cover."
| Has'Kar |
So let's say they kill the alchamist before he gelatinous cubes. . . They find an oddly heavy cloudy potion and one of them decides to go ahead and drink it.
What happens when he quaffs the gelationous cube?
I'm thinking it would pour out over him, leading to a suprise round for the cube, and then he would come in on the alc. Turn because of the summoned creature charateristic.
| Grick |
So let's say they kill the alchamist before he gelatinous cubes. . . They find an oddly heavy cloudy potion and one of them decides to go ahead and drink it.
What happens when he quaffs the gelationous cube?
If the alchemist doesn't have the infusion discovery, then they simply drink a nasty bottle of goo.
If he does have infusion, I would treat opening the bottle the same as tossing it, the ooze reconstitutes and attacks the closest creature. It would act on the turn of the guy that opened it, not the dead alchemist.