Weapon Enchantments and Nets


Rules Questions

Sczarni

If a net is flaming, merciful, corrosive, or any other magic property that deals extra damage, would the net then deal damage to whoever's entangled in it for every round they remain entangled, or just the round on which you catch them in it? Or not at all?

Nets have a maximum range of 10 feet. Would the distance enchantment work on a net, or could you save yourself some money by just tying a longer tow rope on?

A net must be properly folded to be thrown effectively, and once you've thrown it and missed, throwing it is at a -4 penalty. Would the returning enchantment eliminate this penalty, under the theory that the net magically refolds when it returns? Even if so, would a returning net return even after a hit? Would that defeat the purpose of the net, as the target would be caught and immediately released by the net's return?


Silent Saturn wrote:
If a net is flaming, merciful, corrosive, or any other magic property that deals extra damage, would the net then deal damage to whoever's entangled in it for every round they remain entangled, or just the round on which you catch them in it? Or not at all?

By RAW, Flaming, Frost, etc. weapons deal damage on a successful hit, not from contact.

I could see an argument for it, though. The feat Fury's Snare lets you deal flaming damage to a creature entangled by your flaming whip.

Silent Saturn wrote:
Nets have a maximum range of 10 feet. Would the distance enchantment work on a net, or could you save yourself some money by just tying a longer tow rope on?

Distance should work. I wouldn't allow only a longer rope, as it's (probably) not the length of the rope that limits you, but the net itself.

Silent Saturn wrote:
Would the returning enchantment eliminate this penalty, under the theory that the net magically refolds when it returns?

I wouldn't allow it.

Silent Saturn wrote:
Even if so, would a returning net return even after a hit?

I would rule that when it hits, it's essentially entangled along with the target, and wouldn't return until the beginning of your turn on whichever round it was removed.

By RAW, though, Returning might cause it to return at the beginning of your next turn, regardless of entanglement. Ask your DM.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Weapon Enchantments and Nets All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions