Shield Sling, throwing shields and free hands.


Rules Questions


So my DM is letting me use PHB 2 feats from 3.5. Since I'm going AC tank, I wanted to be sword and board. However, I found that I could do a few interesting things with shield sling.

First, shield sling, if I throw the shield normally, would I still get a trip action, from how it is stated, so long as I throw the shield and make an attack roll, it still activates.

Could I have a weapon prepared in each hand before I throw the shield? You are allowed to hold items ahead of time in each hand with a shield so long as you dont attack with it. I don't see why I cant have a weapon in my hand.

If I have an item in one hand, and switch it to the other hand, is that a free action? I was always under the impression that would not take away an action. So if I cant hold an item in the hand that is going to throw the shield, can I just hold it in the other, non shield throwing shield and then just switch afterwards?

Not that this matters, I'm going full Captain America, my shield is my weapon :p . Also, my job is the tank, I'm not interested in damage. :p

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shield Sling, throwing shields and free hands. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions