Tanking Dispel Checks on purpose


Rules Questions


Is it possible? I know you can choose to not hit a foe in melee or to fail a savings throw but is it possible to tank a dispel check on purpose?

Thanks for your time!

Liberty's Edge

No, it is not possible.

I would personally allow someone to tank ALL their dispel checks from a single instance of Dispel Magic (and friends). But definitely not to fail versus buffs and try to succeed versus debuffs.


Let me guess Explosive Runes?


Talonhawke wrote:
Let me guess Explosive Runes?

Close but not quite. The changed dispel mechanics made me curious if I could skip certain buffs while attempting to dispel others. Doesn't appear to work that way from what I've been able to read (and it's the sort of cheese I don't normally stoop to anyway).

Liberty's Edge

I don't know why you would, you can target a specific spell. If you want to dispel something specific, just target that specific spell.

Dispel Magic wrote:
You can also use a targeted dispel to specifically end one spell affecting the target or one spell affecting an area (such as a wall of fire). You must name the specific spell effect to be targeted in this way. If your caster level check is equal to or higher than the DC of that spell, it ends. No other spells or effects on the target are dispelled if your check is not high enough to end the targeted effect.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Tanking Dispel Checks on purpose All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.