Symbol spell question


Rules Questions


If a Symbol spell, such as Symbol of Death or Symbol of Sleep, is placed on a movable surface and is later triggered, is the area that is generated based on where it was triggered or where the symbol currently is? Basically, does the area move with the symbol if it moves or is it stationary based on where the symbol was where it was triggered?


Anybody?


mutantwolf wrote:
If a Symbol spell, such as Symbol of Death or Symbol of Sleep, is placed on a movable surface and is later triggered, is the area that is generated based on where it was triggered or where the symbol currently is? Basically, does the area move with the symbol if it moves or is it stationary based on where the symbol was where it was triggered?

The power of a symbol is from the symbol itself. So, for example, if you have moved the symbol of death after it's activation then the 60' radius of the effect moves with the symbol.

That said remember that you cannot offensively activate symbols, as stated in the spells. So moving an activated symbol to force it's area of affect onto new targets would probably not work.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Gilfalas wrote:
That said remember that you cannot offensively activate symbols, as stated in the spells. So moving an activated symbol to force it's area of affect onto new targets would probably not work.

The 'offensive' limitation in the spells description is woefully unclear; it is pretty clear it can't be triggered offensively, but once its active, it doesn't seem to discriminate.


Thank you for your responses.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Perhaps a visual example would help?


Lurk3r wrote:
Perhaps a visual example would help?

Love it!!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Symbol spell question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.