| Kinithin |
Hi,
I saw someone imply that teleportation spells do not trigger an AoO because the caster won't be there to receive the blow.
Assuming the spell has a casting time of one standard action (such as Dimension Door and Teleport), is that truly the case? I would have thought that the AoO would occur during the casting action, and thus before the actual teleport.
Generally, if you cast a spell, you provoke attacks of opportunity from threatening enemies. If you take damage from an attack of opportunity, you must make a concentration check (DC 10 + points of damage taken + the spell's level) or lose the spell. Spells that require only a free action to cast don't provoke attacks of opportunity.
Thanks
| thepuregamer |
you are correct. If someone casts a spell without doing it defensively, they proc an AoO. They AoO resolves before the spell does. If they take damage, they have to make a concentration check or lose the spell. there is no mention in dim door or in the general description of teleportation spells about it resolving before the AoO, so clearly everything functions as it normally does.
If they want to cast while threatened, then they should 5ft step away or cast defensively.
Josh M Foster
Developer
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
You provoke while casting, and you are hit before you finish, which is why a hit can interrupt casting and waste the spell. If you resolved the AoO after the spell went off, that's one thing, but all AoO's for spellcasting interrupt the action of casting, so the caster is most definitely still there. No question. And a mace to the face might just keep them there.
| wombatkidd |
Hi,
I saw someone imply that teleportation spells do not trigger an AoO because the caster won't be there to receive the blow.
Assuming the spell has a casting time of one standard action (such as Dimension Door and Teleport), is that truly the case? I would have thought that the AoO would occur during the casting action, and thus before the actual teleport.
prd wrote:Generally, if you cast a spell, you provoke attacks of opportunity from threatening enemies. If you take damage from an attack of opportunity, you must make a concentration check (DC 10 + points of damage taken + the spell's level) or lose the spell. Spells that require only a free action to cast don't provoke attacks of opportunity.Thanks
AOO's are resolved before the action that triggers them. Not only would casting provoke, but if the enemy had combat reflexes, the caster could take a second one for leaving the opponent's threatened square.
| William Brewer |
Kinithin wrote:AOO's are resolved before the action that triggers them. Not only would casting provoke, but if the enemy had combat reflexes, the caster could take a second one for leaving the opponent's threatened square.Hi,
I saw someone imply that teleportation spells do not trigger an AoO because the caster won't be there to receive the blow.
Assuming the spell has a casting time of one standard action (such as Dimension Door and Teleport), is that truly the case? I would have thought that the AoO would occur during the casting action, and thus before the actual teleport.
prd wrote:Generally, if you cast a spell, you provoke attacks of opportunity from threatening enemies. If you take damage from an attack of opportunity, you must make a concentration check (DC 10 + points of damage taken + the spell's level) or lose the spell. Spells that require only a free action to cast don't provoke attacks of opportunity.Thanks
Sorry but even with Combat Reflexes, only 1 AOO on a person per round. the Combat Reflex feat allows you to hit mulitple targets that are provoking AOO. But you can never hit same person more than once in a round because of AOO.
| Sangalor |
wombatkidd wrote:Sorry but even with Combat Reflexes, only 1 AOO on a person per round. the Combat Reflex feat allows you to hit mulitple targets that are provoking AOO. But you can never hit same person more than once in a round because of AOO.Kinithin wrote:AOO's are resolved before the action that triggers them. Not only would casting provoke, but if the enemy had combat reflexes, the caster could take a second one for leaving the opponent's threatened square.Hi,
I saw someone imply that teleportation spells do not trigger an AoO because the caster won't be there to receive the blow.
Assuming the spell has a casting time of one standard action (such as Dimension Door and Teleport), is that truly the case? I would have thought that the AoO would occur during the casting action, and thus before the actual teleport.
prd wrote:Generally, if you cast a spell, you provoke attacks of opportunity from threatening enemies. If you take damage from an attack of opportunity, you must make a concentration check (DC 10 + points of damage taken + the spell's level) or lose the spell. Spells that require only a free action to cast don't provoke attacks of opportunity.Thanks
Yes you can, e.g casting a ray and moving 10 feet provokes thrice: casting, ranged attack and movement :-) it just has to be for different reasons.
Diego Rossi
|
Kinithin wrote:AOO's are resolved before the action that triggers them. Not only would casting provoke, but if the enemy had combat reflexes, the caster could take a second one for leaving the opponent's threatened square.Hi,
I saw someone imply that teleportation spells do not trigger an AoO because the caster won't be there to receive the blow.
Assuming the spell has a casting time of one standard action (such as Dimension Door and Teleport), is that truly the case? I would have thought that the AoO would occur during the casting action, and thus before the actual teleport.
prd wrote:Generally, if you cast a spell, you provoke attacks of opportunity from threatening enemies. If you take damage from an attack of opportunity, you must make a concentration check (DC 10 + points of damage taken + the spell's level) or lose the spell. Spells that require only a free action to cast don't provoke attacks of opportunity.Thanks
Moving: Moving out of a threatened square usually provokes attacks of opportunity from threatening opponents.
The AoO isn't for leaving a threatened square but for moving out of it.
Teleportation isn't a form of movement so leaving a square through teleportation don't provoke an attack of opportunity.
| Kinithin |
AOO's are resolved before the action that triggers them. Not only would casting provoke, but if the enemy had combat reflexes, the caster could take a second one for leaving the opponent's threatened square.
Leaving a threatened square does not cause an AoO. Moving out (usually) does.
When casting a spell that makes you disappear, you are distracted, thus provoking an AoO. You do not perform any other distracting activity before disappearing, so nothing provokes a second AoO.
[ Oops! Totally didn't see Diego Rossi's post. ]
Happler
|
wombatkidd wrote:Sorry but even with Combat Reflexes, only 1 AOO on a person per round. the Combat Reflex feat allows you to hit mulitple targets that are provoking AOO. But you can never hit same person more than once in a round because of AOO.Kinithin wrote:AOO's are resolved before the action that triggers them. Not only would casting provoke, but if the enemy had combat reflexes, the caster could take a second one for leaving the opponent's threatened square.Hi,
I saw someone imply that teleportation spells do not trigger an AoO because the caster won't be there to receive the blow.
Assuming the spell has a casting time of one standard action (such as Dimension Door and Teleport), is that truly the case? I would have thought that the AoO would occur during the casting action, and thus before the actual teleport.
prd wrote:Generally, if you cast a spell, you provoke attacks of opportunity from threatening enemies. If you take damage from an attack of opportunity, you must make a concentration check (DC 10 + points of damage taken + the spell's level) or lose the spell. Spells that require only a free action to cast don't provoke attacks of opportunity.Thanks
Incorrect. Combat Reflexes allows 1 AoO per AoO generating action (up to dex bonus mod times). So, for example, if a caster casts a ray spell (with out defensive casting) they would generate 2 AoO's. One from casting without defensive casting, and the other for using a ranged attack roll while threatened.
| Grick |
Combat Reflexes allows 1 AoO per AoO generating action (up to dex bonus mod times).
To further nitpick, Combat Reflexes grants you additional AoOs equal to your Dex bonus.
Someone with Dex 14 can take 3 AoOs per round. (One normally, and 2 extra for the +2 Dex bonus)
Can you point me to the part of the teleport spell where it says its not a form of movement? That would be lovely.
Teleportation: "A teleportation spell transports one or more creatures or objects a great distance. (...) Teleportation is instantaneous travel through the Astral Plane."
It doesn't say that it's not movement. It also doesn't say that it's not apple pie. It does, however, say that it's instantaneous travel and isn't ever listed as a movement type, and if teleportation DID provoke, all those teleport fighting abilities in UC would be pretty crappy.
| wombatkidd |
Teleportation: "A teleportation spell transports one or more creatures or objects a great distance. (...) Teleportation is instantaneous travel through the Astral Plane."It doesn't say that it's not movement. It also doesn't say that it's not apple pie. It does, however, say that it's instantaneous travel and isn't ever listed as a movement type, and if teleportation DID provoke, all those teleport fighting abilities in UC would be pretty crappy.
I was going to say that an airplane isn't listed as a movement type either, and it still is one, but then this happened...
My thoughts are that you have an AoO for the casting (or not if cast defensively). The actual act of teleporting does NOT trigger an AoO. However, there is a feat, Teleport Tactician, that would allow you an AoO.
[hug]Thank you, Lab_Rat, for doing the thing I asked and pointing me to something in the rules that says teleportation doesn't provoke, instead of making passive aggressive comments about pies and linking to the thing I already read! You are a prince among men! [/hug]
| Kinithin |
Can you point me to the part of the teleport spell where it says its not a form of movement? That would be lovely.
By definition, movement requires motion, and motion requires time. Both Dimension Door and Teleport specify the transport is instantaneous.
"You instantly transfer yourself ..."
"This spell instantly transports you ..."
If you insisted on getting an AoO, it would miss. Before you could even start swinging your weapon, the target would already be gone. Again, this is specified by the same passages I quoted above.
Diego Rossi
|
I was going to say that an airplane isn't listed as a movement type either, and it still is one, but then this happened...
An airplane is not a movement. It is an object.
Flying is a form of movement.Seriously if you want a list of what are "not something" and you pretend that it will include everything that is "not that thing" you will get negative replies.
There is a list of what is a move action in game:
"Move Action: A move action allows you to move up to your speed or perform an action that takes a similar amount of time. See Table: Actions in Combat for other move actions.
(the table)
Move Action Attack of Opportunity1
Move Yes
Control a frightened mount Yes
Direct or redirect an active spell No
Draw a weapon3 No
Load a hand crossbow or light crossbow Yes
Open or close a door No
Mount/dismount a steed No
Move a heavy object Yes
Pick up an item Yes
Sheathe a weapon Yes
Stand up from prone Yes
Ready or drop a shield No
Retrieve a stored item Yes"
From there you can see what is classified as a move action and if it allow an AoO, then you can extrapolate if a action is similar or not to be classified as a move action.
Teleport/dimension door:
- It is a basic move action? reply is no form several accounts:
a) "A move action allows you to move up to your speed" false - it allow you to relocate to a different location and the possible distance is based on your caster level
b) "takes a similar amount of time" false - the actual relocation takes no time
- It is similar to one of the other "move equivalent" actions?
Again, no, as it fail the "takes a similar amount of time" check.