| Lute Solo |
Not sure on the rules for this - can you cast spells using a hand that's wearing a spiked gauntlet? Would you be able to use the same hand you're casting with to spellstrike, channeling your spell through the gauntlet?
Given that a normal Magus takes no spell failure from medium or heavy armor as they level up, and given that gauntlets are a facet of some medium and heavy armors, I would theorize that once you no longer take spell failure from medium armor, you could theoretically wear a spiked gauntlet without interfering with your spellcasting ability.
So basically, I would say that before 7th level, you'd incur spell failure if you tried to cast while wearing a spiked gauntlet, but you could certainly spellstrike using the gauntlet if that tickled your fancy.
After 7th, you could freely cast and spellstrike while wearing a spiked gauntlet.
| Thazar |
For the Magus I would say no. The rules clearly state the hand must be free. The intent behind that is that there is NOTHING in your hand and your only weapon is in the other hand. One for casting spells and one for swinging a sword or whatever.
Depending on the ASF you can have a gauntlet on both hands and you can even have them spiked. But if you are doing spell combat, then that off hand cannot make any attacks with the gauntlet or spike and you cannot make AoO with that hand when it is not your turn if in the last round you used spell combat.
Many folks have posted various questions trying to find ways to allow a character to get around the rule that you cannot use two weapons or a weapon and shield with spell combat.
If your group is OK with that then fine... but the intent is clear in the rules and trying to rules lawyer around it is just like any other form of pushing the rules to your own advantage. Good in some groups and frowned on in others.
This also applies to a buckler, cestus, brass knuckles, and lemon wedges.
| Lute Solo |
Not sure on the rules for this - can you cast spells using a hand that's wearing a spiked gauntlet? Would you be able to use the same hand you're casting with to spellstrike, channeling your spell through the gauntlet?
Given that the Magus takes no spell failure from Medium armor at level 7 and Heavy armor somewhere further down the line, and given that gauntlets are a facet of many medium and heavy armors, I would suggest that at level 7, the Magus can cast while wearing a spiked gauntlet (of appropriate armor type) with no problem.
And spell failure aside, a Magus could always use a spiked gauntlet for spellstrike, couldn't he? A weapon's a weapon.
It should be noted, though, that gauntlets make unarmed attacks lethal but do not grant IUA. So while a touch attack wouldn't provoke as part of a spell, if you tried to punch (without a touch spell to deliver) with the spiked gauntlet you would still provoke.
raa17
|
Yes you can, read the description for the gauntlet. It is a metal glove. Gloves leave your hands free. In the description it also states that it can not be disarmed. That is because it is not held. Gauntlets allow you to make unarmed stikes that do lethal as oppossed to non-lethal. A spiked gauntlet is an improvement that allows you to threaten the area around you. Both are gloves and both leave your hands free.