How many Extraordinary Actions can you take in a round


Rules Questions


This comes from a discussion of the Kensai abilities (UC). Specifically:

Can the Kensai use Perfect Strike more than once in a round since it is a reactive ability. In other words, can the Kensai pump as many spell pool points into the crit multiplier as he has left. I've gone through all the books I have and I don't see a limit. The intent seems to be to limit the ability use to once per attack at best. I just wasn't sure.

Thanks in Advance


JackDrake wrote:

This comes from a discussion of the Kensai abilities (UC). Specifically:

Can the Kensai use Perfect Strike more than once in a round since it is a reactive ability. In other words, can the Kensai pump as many spell pool points into the crit multiplier as he has left. I've gone through all the books I have and I don't see a limit. The intent seems to be to limit the ability use to once per attack at best. I just wasn't sure.

Thanks in Advance

Extraordinary is not a category of action. Its a category of abilities. Some of them are full round, some of them are standard, some of them are free, some of them are immediate, some of them are non actions. A rogue could improved evade 400 fireballs in a round.

Benefit: You must declare that you are using this feat before you make your attack roll (thus a failed attack roll ruins the attempt). You must use one of the following weapons to make the attack: kama, nunchaku, quarterstaff, sai, and siangham. You can roll your attack roll twice and take the higher result. If one of these rolls is a critical threat, the other roll is used as your confirmation roll (your choice if they are both critical threats). You may attempt a perfect attack once per day for every four levels you have attained (but see Special), and no more than once per round.

- if this is accurate its allowable once per round.


Kensai's Perfect Strike is not the same as the feat from APG, unfortunately. It's a bit of namespace collision. The Kensai ability is limited by arcane pool points. As long as you have points in your arcane pool, you can maximize your damage (or increase your crit multiplier if you crit) as many times a round as you can hit something with your chosen weapon.

EDIT: If you're asking whether you can spend 4 points to increase the multiplier by 2, the answer is no. You are given the option to spend 2 points for +1 multiplier, but no more.


Fozbek wrote:

Kensai's Perfect Strike is not the same as the feat from APG, unfortunately. It's a bit of namespace collision. The Kensai ability is limited by arcane pool points. As long as you have points in your arcane pool, you can maximize your damage (or increase your crit multiplier if you crit) as many times a round as you can hit something with your chosen weapon.

EDIT: If you're asking whether you can spend 4 points to increase the multiplier by 2, the answer is no. You are given the option to spend 2 points for +1 multiplier, but no more.

That was the question. If you had 6 points (somehow) could you raise the crit multiplier by 3. Is there some place that actually says no or is that the interpretation of intent? To be clear, I'm with you, Fozbek. I believe that is the intent, but, as we all know, there are more lawyers in gaming than in Washington DC.

Thanks


If I say to you, "If you can show me the secret handshake, you can take one apple from this barrel", that doesn't mean you can show me the handshake and then take 10 apples from the barrel. Similarly, "If you score a critical hit, you can spend 2 arcane pool points to increase your critical multiplier by 1" doesn't mean you can spend 10 points to increase it by 5. You are given an option: spend 2 points for +1 multiplier. There is no rule that says you can do this more than once or that you can spend more than 2 points for increased effect. In the absence of a rule letting you do something, you cannot do it.


Of course, if you somehow manage to score five crits in the same round, no one is going to stop you from blowing 10 points for increasing all of their multipliers by +1.


Midnight_Angel wrote:
Of course, if you somehow manage to score five crits in the same round, no one is going to stop you from blowing 10 points for increasing all of their multipliers by +1.

Yep, that's perfectly fine, assuming of course that you have 10 arcane pool points to spend in that manner.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How many Extraordinary Actions can you take in a round All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions