Protean subdomain power: Aura of chaos. How does it work?


Rules Questions


Here is the description of the Aura of Chaos from the Protean subdomain:

Quote:


Aura of Chaos (Su): At 8th level, you can surround yourself with a field wild energies. These energies manifest as a 30-foot aura of chaos for a number of rounds per day equal to your cleric level. All enemies within this aura must declare one type of action at the start of their turn (attack, cast a spell, move, use an item, or activate a special ability) and make a Will save. Creatures that fail the Will save must take an action other than their declared action. If they succeed, they must take the declared action. Creatures cannot select actions that they cannot perform.

I am not sure how it works exactly...

- if the save is successfull, do you think the ennemy can do ONLY the action he picked or any combination of actions including the one he picked ?
- if the save is failed, do you think the ennemy can do ONLY ONE action different than the one he picked or any combination of actions excluding the one he picked ?
- do you think ennemy know exactly how the power work to chose his action or has he to chose his action without knowing whats happening and the consequences ?

If anyone already played with that power, please enlighten me !


I am within the Field, I declare attack, I roll my will saving throw & fail, now I have to take ANY other action except attack this round.

the inverse: I declare spell, I roll my will & make it I can ONLY cast a spell this round now.

Now if they decide attack, they may likely decide between Full attack Action or standard action as normal if they can do both.


Anyone else has some information to share about that power ?


BUmp just to check if anyone else has some input about that topic.


Indeed a bumperooni is in order.


It is unnecessary to create your own two threads asking about Aura of Chaos and then necromance a thread on the topic that has dead for 5+ years, Atalius. Please keep all of your questions about a single topic in one thread.

To answer the question, Dolanar has the right of it:

Declare action > Fail saving throw > Cannot take declared action as part of current turn
Declare action > Pass saving throw > Must take declared action as part of current turn

To respond to the third and final question...

Quote:
- do you think ennemy know exactly how the power work to chose his action or has he to chose his action without knowing whats happening and the consequences ?

I would personally lean towards the latter option, but there is no hard ruling in either direction so it is ultimately the DM's call to make.


Thank you LadyGrayRose, appreciate it. In my defense the three threads ask different questions. I try not to have a single thread containing four-five different questions because one or two always fly under the radar. Sorry.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Protean subdomain power: Aura of chaos. How does it work? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions