Ranger Skirmisher Vengeance strike trick question


Rules Questions


I have a question about the Ranger skirmisher trick named "Vengeance strike":

Vengeance strike wrote:


Vengeance Strike (Ex): The Ranger can use this trick as an immediate action when an enemy adjacent to him hits an ally with a melee or ranged attack. The Ranger can make a single melee attack at his highest base attack bonus against the creature who attacked his ally.
Official FAQ about "Ally" definition wrote:


Do you count as your own ally?

You count as your own ally unless otherwise stated or if doing so would make no sense or be impossible. Thus, "your allies" almost always means the same as "you and your allies."

—Sean K Reynolds, 10/12/10

According to the FAQ quoted, i'd say that you can use the Vengeance strike when an adjacent ennemy hits you (or of course an ally).

Am i wrong ?

Thanks for your enlightments !


RAW, yes. If you get hit, you can whack them back once per turn (giving up your swift action).

Not sure about RAI.

Dark Archive

Cheapy wrote:

RAW, yes. If you get hit, you can whack them back once per turn (giving up your swift action).

Not sure about RAI.

Actually it's not your swift action it's an immediate action, important difference.

This trick actually costs you your swift action from your next turn.
If you do it right you can take a swift action on your turn, do your standard +move action, get hit and THEN take a vengeance strike sacrificing your swift action for the following turn.

Wicked.


Any other point of view ?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ranger Skirmisher Vengeance strike trick question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.