Can you withdraw when you are feared?


Rules Questions


If affected by a spell like Cause Fear or under the affect of some creatures fear ability can must you only double move or run if you can? Can you Combat Expertise while withdrawing or otherwise fight defensively? Or do you take all the AoO's?

Liberty's Edge

harmor wrote:

If affected by a spell like Cause Fear or under the affect of some creatures fear ability can must you only double move or run if you can? Can you Combat Expertise while withdrawing or otherwise fight defensively? Or do you take all the AoO's?

You are asking about the frightened condition. A partial quote:

"Frightened: Characters who are frightened are shaken, and in addition they flee from the source of their fear as quickly as they can. They can choose the paths of their flight."

While it says "as quickly as they can," which relates to rate, I think it is reasonable to view it as going as far as they can (distance). The distinction is that run is always quicker, but must be in a straight line. Double move/withdraw may result in a longer flight distance and is consistent with the frightened character choosing their route. So, Run if it gives a longer distance, Withdraw is ok if it can take the character farther away than run can. There is no justification in allowing a double move but prohibiting withdraw within the rules; they are the same speed and can give the same distance away.

While there can be some variance in how this is viewed, both Combat Expertise and fighting defensively require that you attack. Since you aren't attacking, you can't use them. You will get others saying it's fine. I don't consider this position valid. Neither of these do anything about provoking AoO, they merely improve your AC in the event you are attacked.

So, if able to withdraw, you would avoid AoO from the first square you leave (that's all withdraw gives). You take all other AoOs, regardless of run, withdraw, and whether GM permits Combat Expertise and/or fighting defensively.


Howie23 wrote:


You are asking about the frightened condition.

I would say that a frightened character could withdraw, but a panicked one would have to run.

Frightened imho means that the desire to leave is compelling, but they are certainly able to (and in fact if it's the only option compelled to) teleport out or the like. So I don't see any wording like 'at top speed' like there is under panicked.

I see for frightened the following:

Quote:


A frightened creature flees from the source of its fear as best it can. If unable to flee, it may fight. A frightened creature takes a –2 penalty on all attack rolls, saving throws, skill checks, and ability checks. A frightened creature can use special abilities, including spells, to flee; indeed, the creature must use such means if they are the only way to escape.

Frightened is like shaken, except that the creature must flee if possible. Panicked is a more extreme state of fear.

While I see for Panicked:

Quote:


A panicked creature must drop anything it holds and flee at top speed from the source of its fear, as well as any other dangers it encounters, along a random path. It can't take any other actions. In addition, the creature takes a –2 penalty on all saving throws, skill checks, and ability checks. If cornered, a panicked creature cowers and does not attack, typically using the total defense action in combat. A panicked creature can use special abilities, including spells, to flee; indeed, the creature must use such means if they are the only way to escape.

Panicked is a more extreme state of fear than shaken or frightened.

I'm using the pfsrd, is there something I'm missing?

-James


Frightened: Characters who are frightened are shaken, and in addition they flee from the source of their fear as quickly as they can.

Panicked: Characters who are panicked are shaken, and they run away from the source of their fear as quickly as they can, dropping whatever they are holding. Other than running away from the source, their paths are random. They flee from all other dangers that confront them rather than facing those dangers. Once they are out of sight (or hearing) of any source of danger, they can act as they want. Panicked characters cower if they are prevented from fleeing.

'Fleeing' is a non-calculated, hurried attempt to get as far away as the source of the fear/panic as fast as possible (running). When you run, you can move up to four times your speed in a straight line.

That being said, withdraw is a calculated removal of oneself from a single threatened area (the one you start out in), all the while maintaining your guard and awareness, limited to twice your move, so, no, withdrawing is not possible when fleeing.


Noah Fentz wrote:

[i]Frightened: Characters who are frightened are shaken, and in addition they flee from the source of their fear as quickly as they can.

Ah I see it now under fear.

I still think that frightened could withdraw, as they could elect to Ddoor away as well, which also doesn't fit into having to 'run'.

Meanwhile panicked does say it has to run, so I think it seems to be a fair line drawn there.

-James


Casting DD would not be fleeing as fast as they can. It would be casting a spell.


Noah Fentz wrote:
Casting DD would not be fleeing as fast as they can. It would be casting a spell.
PRD wrote:

Frightened: A frightened creature flees from the source of its fear as best it can. If unable to flee, it may fight. A frightened creature takes a –2 penalty on all attack rolls, saving throws, skill checks, and ability checks. A frightened creature can use special abilities, including spells, to flee; indeed, the creature must use such means if they are the only way to escape.

Frightened is like shaken, except that the creature must flee if possible. Panicked is a more extreme state of fear.


I guess it depends on which Frightened entry you're looking at ...

Under Fear ...

Frightened: Characters who are frightened are shaken, and in addition they flee from the source of their fear as quickly as they can. They can choose the paths of their flight. Other than that stipulation, once they are out of sight (or hearing) of the source of their fear, they can act as they want. If the duration of their fear continues, however, characters can be forced to flee if the source of their fear presents itself again. Characters unable to flee can fight (though they are still shaken).

Under the Frightened condition ...

Frightened: A frightened creature flees from the source of its fear as best it can. If unable to flee, it may fight. A frightened creature takes a –2 penalty on all attack rolls, saving throws, skill checks, and ability checks. A frightened creature can use special abilities, including spells, to flee; indeed, the creature must use such means if they are the only way to escape.

I suppose 'They can choose the paths of their flight.' could be interpreted as spellcasting options, though I'd rule it as possible only if all means of escape are blocked.

I thought this was about Cause Fear, and not the condition itself, which can be acquire in other ways.

*shrug*


Noah Fentz wrote:


I suppose 'They can choose the paths of their flight.' could be interpreted as spellcasting options, though I'd rule it as possible only if all means of escape are blocked.

Well considering that the condition expressly says that they can do so, I'd say that there's not much 'interpretation' involved here.

-James


Fair enough.

It would be nice to have more consistency in the PRD.


I don't see the two descriptions as contradictory, just that the description in the glossary is more detailed. Although it would be nice either to have everything you need to know under the spell description or else just have a note "see frightened condition."


Joana wrote:
I don't see the two descriptions as contradictory, just that the description in the glossary is more detailed. Although it would be nice either to have everything you need to know under the spell description or else just have a note "see frightened condition."

I agree.

We were all discussing the same subject using two different entries as a baseline.

I think we've at least answered the OP's question.

:)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you withdraw when you are feared? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.