| Grick |
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Some questions about Mad Monkeys:
1) How long is a target nauseated when hit by the Mad Monkeys distraction ability?
The Mad Monkeys from the spell have an enhanced version of Distraction. "Creatures failing a saving throw against the mad monkeys' distraction attack are deafened for 1 minute as well as nauseated." Normally, the nausea from distraction lasts 1 round.
2) When do the Mad Monkeys perform their disarm attack?
"The monkeys attempt one disarm or steal combat maneuver each turn as a free action against any creature that begins its turn in the swarm"
A) At the beginning of the turn of the creature that begins its turn in the swarm (thus: free action out of turn)
B) On the monkey's turn, against any creature that begun its turn within the swarm, even if it is no longer in the swarm (unlimited range)
C) On the monkey's turn, against any creature that begun its turn within the swarm, as long as the creature is again within the swarm (IE: Orc is swarmed, orc moves out of swarm, swarm follows, then disarms)
D) On the monkeys turn, against any creature that began its turn in the swarm and never left it (need time to 'steep' in the monkeys)
3) Can the monkeys attempt to disarm more than one opponent per turn? (One maneuver per creature, or one maneuver per turn?)
References:
Mad Monkeys
Mad Monkeys
School conjuration (summoning); Level bard 3, druid 3, sorcerer/wizard 3, summoner 3
Casting Time 1 round
Components V, S, DF
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Effect swarm of monkeys
Duration 1 round/level
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no
You summon a swarm of screeching, mischievous monkeys. The swarm understands and obeys your commands and has the statistics of a monkey swarm. Creatures failing a saving throw against the mad monkeys' distraction attack are deafened for 1 minute as well as nauseated. The monkeys attempt one disarm or steal combat maneuver each turn as a free action against any creature that begins its turn in the swarm, using your caster level plus your casting ability score bonus (Intelligence for wizards; Wisdom for druids and oracles; Charisma for bards, sorcerers, and summoners) for its CMB. Recovering an item from the monkeys requires a successful disarm or steal attempt against that CMD. An object stolen by the monkeys takes swarm damage each round the swarm is in possession of the object.
| Some call me Tim |
1) How long is a target nauseated when hit by the Mad Monkeys distraction ability
Based on the wording of the spell, I would say one minute. Although, I think the intent was one round per the distraction ability.
2) When do the Mad Monkeys perform their disarm attack
I will go with:
A) At the beginning of the turn of the creature that begins its turn in the swarm (thus: free action out of turn)
3) Can the monkeys attempt to disarm more than one opponent per turn? (One maneuver per creature, or one maneuver per turn?)
Nothing in the wording suggests any limit.
| Drejk |
1. I would say that 1 minute nausea would make this too powerful - I think that it should last for 1 round as per regular distraction swarm special attack and thus it should be worded as "Creatures failing a saving throw against the mad monkeys' distraction attack are nauseated for 1 round and deafened for 1 minute."
2. Many effects take place at the begining of their subjects' turn so I would say A.
Dscription says that monkey attempt their maneuver against creature that begins its turn within the sswarm, not that [i]began[/] its turn which suggest that action is made at the same time as begining of the creature's turn.
3. At first I thought that they would make one maneuver per possible target but after rereading it I think that they can make one steal attempt each round?: "The monkeys attempt one disarm or steal combat maneuver each turn"
| Some call me Tim |
3. At first I thought that they would make one maneuver per possible target but after rereading it I think that they can make one steal attempt each round?: "The monkeys attempt one disarm or steal combat maneuver each turn"
I took that to prevent abuse by the I-can-do-an-infinite-number-of-free-actions crowd (i.e. It's a free action so the monkeys will continue to disarm until they finally succeed.) But I can see how it could be read that way.
| Stynkk |
1. I'll go with 1 round as well. Normal Distraction is Bauseated for 1 round, this ability also adds 1 minute of deafened.
2. Yeeesh... more free actions out of your turn madness... Personally, I hate the precident Paizo is insisting on, but as written it constitutes A (free action out of turn).
3. One disarm attempt a turn, even if it fails, that was the Monkeys attempt. Notice it says one attempt, not a successful attempt.
| wolverinex3d |
wolverinex3d wrote:Does a "Mad Monkey" Monkey Swarms STEAL or DISARM Combat Maneuver provoke an attack of opportunity?I don't see why not. They don't have the Improved CM feats. They also provoke from moving into the occupied square.
Just checking. I figured that, but wanted to be sure before I played next and cast my Mad Monkeys spell.
I know it provokes from moving into the square.Thanks Grick!
:)