When to use Ride and when Handle Animal?


Rules Questions


I'm pretty sure I know the answer, but I want to make sure, so I don't mess it up.

Situation:
Light Horse is combat trained, so knows the attack trick.
Handle Animal says that ordering it to attack is DC 10 Handle Animals and a move action (it's just a horse, no Animal Companion).

Ride says that using the mount to attack is a free action and a DC 10 Ride check.

So I assume it's like this:
If you're not mounted you have to use handle animal. Ok this part is obvious, if you're not mounted you can't use ride.

If you're mounted, you make a DC 10 ride check, the horse moves to the enemy if necessary, makes it's attacks against the enemy, and you can do your own thing, attacking yourself or casting a spell etc.
NO handle animal check is necessary, it's covered with ride already.
Just moving the horse without attacking requires no check at all (except maybe a DC 5 for guiding with knees)

Or would I actually have to make both checks when mounted?


Either check should do it, otherwise a knight or mounted fighter would never be able to attack in the same round as his ride.

Grand Lodge

The two checks have different purposes. Handle Animal gets the horse to attack. Ride allows you enough control to make your attacks while the horse is rearing and stomping.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / When to use Ride and when Handle Animal? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions