Are summoned creatures auto dismissed when caster dies?


Rules Questions


This is not a question about the summoner class and eidelon.

Let me explain what happened. My PCs were in the middle of a fairly harry fight against 2 babus and a heruzog. One of the babus was able to summon a third babu to the fight. Four rounds later the summoning babu was killed. One of the players (who is also a DM) thought the summoned babu would poof as well and I thought the summoned one would finish out the remaning 3 rounds of the summoning before poofing away.

The game came to a stop while we all opened books. After a few minutes
no one could find a definative rule so I made a judgement call. I ruled that the babu would stay until the spell duration expired.

So was this the correct call on how summoning spells/abilities work?

Thanks for the input

-Flea


Unless the spell requires concentration (which summoning spells don't) they run until their duration expires. The only other exception, which still doesn't apply, is if there is a (D) after the duration, in which case it can be dismissed by the caster at any time before the spell would normally expire.


more importantly, if a PC summons a vile creature then dies, does the creature still carry out the pc's wishes or does it do whatever the hell it wants?


Just like any other summned/controlled creature (commanded undead for instance) continues its last orders until no longer possible, then waits for new orders.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Are summoned creatures auto dismissed when caster dies? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions