Casting Spells


Rules Questions


If I have a +6/+1 BAB as a Sorc I can cast 2 standard action spells?


No.

Casting a spell is (usually) a standard action. You only get one standard action on your turn. A full-attack is only for attacks, not casting.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Attacks and spellcasting are two completely different sets of mechanics.

As Umbral Reaver said: Absolutely not.


I can see how one could be uncertain. I have always ruled it the same as Umbral and RD. A quick search of the PRD and the updated core rules came up with only two references of the "one spell per round" rule. And both of them were refering to the one exception...casting a quickened spell as a swift action.

But it makes it quite clear, ONE SPELL PER ROUND, unless casting a quickened spell...and even then it is only one swift action spell plus the standard action spell.

Perhaps a better core rules lore person can find a better place where it is spelled out. If I were new to Pathfinder/D&D, I could see easily missing this. Anyway, kudos to Ravingdork and Umbral Reaver for the accurate responces :)

Greg


Only one spell per round as a standard action (or full round, or 1 round casting). Plus an additional spell via Quickened Spell.

Also note, out of Ultimate Magic, using the optional spell system Words of Power at higher levels you can pack two or possible three words of effect into a single casting. With effect words combinations you could pop off six effect spells in a single round, utilizing Quicken Spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Casting Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.