Chill Touch Question


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Spell Description wrote:


Chill Touch

School necromancy; Level magus 1, sorcerer/wizard 1, witch 1
CASTING

Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S
EFFECT

Range touch
Targets creature or creatures touched (up to one/level)
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw Fortitude partial or Will negates; see text; Spell Resistance yes

A touch from your hand, which glows with blue energy, disrupts the life force of living creatures. Each touch channels negative energy that deals 1d6 points of damage. The touched creature also takes 1 point of Strength damage unless it makes a successful Fortitude saving throw. You can use this melee touch attack up to one time per level.

An undead creature you touch takes no damage of either sort, but it must make a successful Will saving throw or flee as if panicked for 1d4 rounds + 1 round per caster level.

At higher level, a caster can hit multiple targets. Clearly the target(s) must be within reach. But how does a caster hit multiple targets?

1. Attack all adjacent targets in one round:
1a. If there is only one target, too bad. Additional uses are lost.
1b. If there is only one target, attack him again.

2. Attack one target per round:
2a. As 1a
2b. As 2b
2c. You can move between attacks and the additional attacks do not even have to be in contiguous rounds

3. If you do mot have multiple attacks (BAB +6/+1) too bad. Additional uses are lost.


You get one attack for free when you cast the spell. You can then make more attacks as turns pass and you get more actions. At this point the touch spell is a weapon for most purposes and you get attacks based upon your BAB and normal combat rules. Things like haste may give you an additional attack with a full round action of attacking.

As always you have to have the target within reach and you have to hit the touch AC of the target with your attack.

Scarab Sages

Cast as a swift action the hold charge... The full round attack.
Works good for a monk arcanist.
Other option is combat relax with multiple aoo.
All the depends on caster level.

Silver Crusade

Thazar wrote:

You get one attack for free when you cast the spell. You can then make more attacks as turns pass and you get more actions. At this point the touch spell is a weapon for most purposes and you get attacks based upon your BAB and normal combat rules. Things like haste may give you an additional attack with a full round action of attacking.

As always you have to have the target within reach and you have to hit the touch AC of the target with your attack.

So, assuming my magus survives to level 2, it might go something like this:

Round 1:
Attack with weapon. Cast Chill Touch defensively (assume success). Attack with Chill Touch
Round 2:
Attack with weapon. Attack with Chill Touch. I would think that even a magus could not cast another spell this round.

OR (even better):
Round 1:
Attack with weapon. Cast Chill Touch defensively (again assume success) with Spellstrike. Attack with weapon again. A hit this time delivers normal weapon damage + Chill Touch damage.
Round 2:
Attack with weapon. A hit delivers normal weapon damage + Chill Touch. Cast another spell using Spell Combat.

Scarab Sages

Andrew Besso wrote:


So, assuming my magus survives to level 2, it might go something like this:

Round 1:
Attack with weapon. Cast Chill Touch defensively (assume success). Attack with Chill Touch
Round 2:
Attack with weapon. Attack with Chill Touch. I would think that even a magus could not cast another spell this round.

OR (even better):
Round 1:
Attack with weapon. Cast Chill Touch defensively (again assume success) with Spellstrike. Attack with weapon again. A hit this time delivers normal weapon damage + Chill Touch damage.
Round 2:
Attack with weapon. A hit delivers normal weapon damage + Chill Touch. Cast another spell using Spell Combat.

Better yet, cast the spell with spellstrike first in the round (casting it defensively), then both attacks in the first round would deliver Chill Touch, and, if you miss the first swing, you could still deliver a charge with the second.


Casting a spell ends any held spell charge you have. So until you use up the charges, there is no more spell casting.

As far as attacking with the weapon and the hand. That is two weapon fighting with the off hand being a light weapon. Technically since you are NOT casting the spell then you need to have the feats for those other attacks from your level if you still want to use your weapon.

That being said, if I were your DM I would allow you to attack with the chill touch. You may be better of taking the spellstrike option and attack with your weapon and it if hit then you deliver the chill touch with the strike... but then again that is a bit of a gray area as you are not actually casting the spell on subsequent rounds so Magus may not help you with that.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Chill Touch Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions