Alchemist bombs


Rules Questions


Are Alchemist bombs subject to spell resistance, Damage Reduction, or Energy Resistance/Immunity? My ruling would be no, yes, yes, but I was wondering if there was an official rule I have missed.

Grand Lodge

Adventure Path Charter Subscriber
posternutbag wrote:
Are Alchemist bombs subject to spell resistance, Damage Reduction, or Energy Resistance/Immunity? My ruling would be no, yes, yes, but I was wondering if there was an official rule I have missed.

Bombs are a supernatural ability so they wouldn't be subject to spell resistances. Energy attacks (like fire) ignore damage reduction. Since the basic bomb is a fire-based attack, fire resistance/immunity is a viable defense against it.

-Skeld


posternutbag wrote:
Are Alchemist bombs subject to spell resistance, Damage Reduction, or Energy Resistance/Immunity? My ruling would be no, yes, yes, but I was wondering if there was an official rule I have missed.

Bomb (Su): On a direct hit, an alchemist's bomb inflicts 1d6 points of fire damage + additional damage equal to the alchemist's Intelligence modifier.

Supernatural Abilities (Su): Supernatural abilities are not subject to spell resistance

Damage Reduction: Spells, spell-like abilities, and energy attacks (even nonmagical fire) ignore damage reduction.

Energy Resistance: Each resistance ability is defined by what energy type it resists and how many points of damage are resisted. It doesn't matter whether the damage has a mundane or magical source.

No spell resistance, no damage reduction, yes energy resistance/immunity (IF the resistance is the same energy type as the bomb. Fire for fire, frost for frost, etc.)


Thank you both very much. I appreciate your responses.

Shadow Lodge

Grick wrote:
Bomb (Su): On a direct hit, an alchemist's bomb inflicts 1d6 points of fire damage + additional damage equal to the alchemist's Intelligence modifier. (Plus adds bonus damage based on character level that isn't multiplied on a critical hit or with Vital Strike)

Slight addition to you post there, not a correction, but an expansion.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Alchemist bombs All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions