Spell interaction between Arrow Eruption and Acid Arrow


Rules Questions


Hopefully I'm posting this in the right area.
I believe that arrow eruption is castable once acid arrow has killed a creature. I'd like to get some feedback on this. I am aware it is kinda cheesy.

Acid arrow.

Arrow eruption.

Acid arrow isn't enhancing an attack, it is the attack.


Quote:
...However, this spell cannot reproduce any spells or other limited-use magical effects that you used to enhance that particular attack...


Lohengrin wrote:

Hopefully I'm posting this in the right area.

I believe that arrow eruption is castable once acid arrow has killed a creature. I'd like to get some feedback on this. I am aware it is kinda cheesy.

Acid arrow.

Arrow eruption.

Acid arrow isn't enhancing an attack, it is the attack.

While interestingly arguable by RAW, almost certainly this is against RAI.

this spell cannot reproduce any spells or other limited-use magical effects that you used to enhance that particular attack.

I know it seems like "enhance" is the operative word there, but that line, to me, says "no spells."

Anyway, as a GM I'd say "hell, no," and everyone else at my table would likely agree. It's mega-cheese.


arrow eruption wrote:
However, this spell cannot reproduce any spells or other limited-use magical effects that you used to enhance that particular attack.

This is the part of arrow eruption that contradicts acid arrow. The enhancement in this case is the creation of the arrow. No spells enhancing the acid arrow, no acid arrow.

That being said, I'd know a few DM's who would let this go more on creativity points than on following the rules. I'd say that if you allow this in, get ready for every single player ever to become an bow wielding spellcaster.


There is still hope if you houserule a nerf on this. the flavour is exquisite and shouldn't be cut out just because of silly "rules".


Magnu123 wrote:
There is still hope if you houserule a nerf on this. the flavour is exquisite and shouldn't be cut out just because of silly "rules".

Perhaps you are unaware of what forum you posted in -- you can hardly ask in a 'rules' forum and then say, "it should be allowed even if the rules don't allow it."

Well, okay you can -- but that doesn't mean you should.


At 18th level, using a 1st and 2nd level spell, the damage output is comparable to a fireball cast by a 10th level character.

Arrow eruption is an attack roll, not a ranged touch attack. So, a caster is much less likely to succeed at higher levels.

True twinkery is greater vital strike + gravity bow + arrow eruption from an arcane archer. (Oddly, my GM called that fine in theory, but shot down the subject of this thread instantly.)

Also, thanks for the responses.


That should have been "using two 2nd level spells."

Not sure why I couldn't edit that.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell interaction between Arrow Eruption and Acid Arrow All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.