Singleton and unarmed strike


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Am I interpreting it correctly when I see the Free Hand Fighter's singleton ability have no effect on unarmed strikes? For example, if I go the two-weapon fighting route wielding only unarmed strikes, would only the main hand attacks get the bonus, or neither, since I'm not technically "wielding" anything?

Dark Archive

Correct. And the +1 bonus on attack and damage is not weapon-specific, so it applies to your weapon and your unarmed strikes.

Scarab Sages

Garden Tool wrote:
Correct. And the +1 bonus on attack and damage is not weapon-specific, so it applies to your weapon and your unarmed strikes.

Wait, correct as in "my main hand unarmed strikes would have the bonus, but not my offhand"?


Amgal wrote:
Garden Tool wrote:
Correct. And the +1 bonus on attack and damage is not weapon-specific, so it applies to your weapon and your unarmed strikes.
Wait, correct as in "my main hand unarmed strikes would have the bonus, but not my offhand"?
Singleton wrote:
At 5th level, a free hand fighter gains a +1 bonus on attack and damage rolls when wielding a melee weapon in one hand and leaving his other hand free. This bonus increases by +1 per six levels after 5th.

The bonus is given to all attack and damage rolls while you meet the condition of a melee weapon in one hand and nothing in the other. So if you had a sword in one hand (whether or not you attack with it) and punch with the other, you'd get the bonuses to your punches. If you didn't have a sword, you wouldn't get the bonuses.


I'm of the opinion that unarmed strikes ARE melee weapons and as such, wielding two fists is enough to satisfy the need. And you'd gain the bonus on both attacks.

Or, get a gauntlet for right hand, no gauntlet for left hand, if the DM interprets wielding otherwise.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Singleton and unarmed strike All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions