Superstition and unconcious


Rules Questions


Hey all, I could use some opinions.

I created a human barbarian with superstition. Needless to say his saves against spells are ridiculous when raging. As a negative, I have to save against all spells, including heal spells from allies.

My question is this. If I am unconscious do I still have to make the saves?

From d20pfsrd.com
Some spells restrict you to willing targets only. Declaring yourself as a willing target is something that can be done at any time (even if you're flat-footed or it isn't your turn). Unconscious creatures are automatically considered willing, but a character who is conscious but immobile or helpless (such as one who is bound, cowering, grappling, paralyzed, pinned, or stunned) is not automatically willing.

In this case, will I be automatically considered willing of a cure spell when unconscious even though superstition says I am not?

Thanks for the help.

Edit: My gut instinct says no. I would still have to make saves (Did not see any "willing" references in the cure spells).


You're unconscious, how do you even know you are the target of a spell?


You stop raging when you fall unconscious. So superstition wouldn't apply unless you have the feat from the Advanced Player's Guide that lets you keep raging while unconscious.

When you fall unconscious you also lose the HP you gained from rage, which could mean you could die immediately and your friends wouldn't have time to heal you.

For Example:
When a Level 8 barbarian rages, he gains 16 HP. If he gets reduced to 0 HP during the fight, he falls unconscious and ends his rage. As a consequence he loses his 16 HP from the rage so he would immediately drop to -16 HP.


Stynkk wrote:

You stop raging when you fall unconscious. So superstition wouldn't apply unless you have the feat from the Advanced Player's Guide that lets you keep raging while unconscious.

When you fall unconscious you also lose the HP you gained from rage, which could mean you could die immediately and your friends wouldn't have time to heal you.

For Example:
When a Level 8 barbarian rages, he gains 16 HP. If he gets reduced to 0 HP during the fight, he falls unconscious and ends his rage. As a consequence he loses his 16 HP from the rage so he would immediately drop to -16 HP.

Sorry I did not mention this, but the character will have the raging vitality feat which allows him to rage while unconscious.


IMO, being a willing target for purposes of the spell does not imply the conscious decision to drop spell resistance. So your Cleric is going to need to beat his SR to heal him.


If you are still raging then yep, you'd still have superstition up and you'd roll because you're an unwilling target.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Superstition and unconcious All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions