Vital Strike and Charging, revisited


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

I know this has been discussed previously, but I was wondering if the developers had changed their minds about not allowing vital strike to be used on a charge. The reason for this comes from the Inner Sea World Guide. Specifically, on page 315, under the Treerazer entry, it states:

Treerazer begins most combats by casting time stop and raising an antiplant shell to prevent plant creatures (including creatures under the effect of his aura of corruption) from approaching. If he has time, he also creates walls of thorns and summons demons (usually four nalfeshnees and 12 hezrous). In melee, Treerazer gleefully takes up Blackaxe and makes full attacks against the closest foe, or Greater Vital Strikes if he’s forced to move or charge.

Either they have changed their minds about Vital Strike and charging (and not told anyone) or this was a mistake and needs to be corrected in a future update. I would just like it cleared up.

Jerry


I am pretty sure it's mistake, probably by one of the other writers who wasn't 100% familliar with the rules.


the other option is that Treerazer an epic monster of which entire campaigns are built around is allowed to violate the rules. But i do not think te rules themselves have changed.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Vital Strike and Charging, revisited All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions