Casting Spells From Scrolls


Rules Questions


I have a question regarding casting spells from a scroll. Say my 2nd level, 15 Int wizard comes across a CL 17 scroll containing hold portal and rope trick. As I understand the rule, my wizard can cast the hold portal without a problem. However, if he tries to cast the web spell, he has to make a caster level check of 18. Is that correct?

Spoiler:
If the user meets all the requirements noted above, and her caster level is at least equal to the spell's caster level, she can automatically activate the spell without a check. If she meets all three requirements but her own caster level is lower than the scroll spell's caster level, then she has to make a caster level check (DC = scroll's caster level + 1) to cast the spell successfully. If she fails, she must make a DC 5 Wisdom check to avoid a mishap (see Scroll Mishaps).


The rule you've quoted refers to the caster level not spell level.

That means - Activating both spells from a CL:17 scroll would require a DC:18 caster level check.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Casting Spells From Scrolls All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions