Attacking in a suprise round


Rules Questions


I am curious about attacking in a surprise round if one does not have a weapon drawn yet. Can one draw a bow and then attack once in a surprise round. If one already has the bow drawn can one do a full round attack


I'm pretty sure that in a surprise round you can't make a full attack. In fact I think you can only do one action, either a move action or a standard action.

Which should answer your other question, but to be sure, that means that if you have your bow put away, you can only get it out (move action), you can't also fire.

UNLESS, you have the quickdraw feat and can draw a weapon as a free action (and I allow this to be applied to bows and other ranged weapons if the player has devised or purchased a "holster" for their bow).

Shadow Lodge

zmanerism wrote:
I am curious about attacking in a surprise round if one does not have a weapon drawn yet. Can one draw a bow and then attack once in a surprise round.

Only if you have quick draw. Otherwise it's a move action or part of another move action to draw a weapon (as long as your BAB is +1).

Quote:
If one already has the bow drawn can one do a full round attack

No, surprise round is a standard action.


thank you all for clearing this up

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Attacking in a suprise round All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions