| brassbaboon |
I probably don't go by RAW on this. I try to make rulings based on individual circumstances.
In general it's pretty much any portion will cause full effect, but not if there is reason to rule that the spell only hit the tail of a giant snake.
In those cases I can and sometimes do reduce the damage or effect.
| Bobson |
Citation please...
-- david
Kilbourne wrote:Any portion of any creature that is within the spells area of effect takes full effect from the spell
Via logic: Do you reduce damage on the titan because the halfling fighter can only swing at his ankles?
Via rules: There are no rules here which say that you get any kind of bonus if you are partially outside the area. Therefor, it's binary - either you're in the area (and are affected) or you aren't (and you aren't). The question then becomes, if you're halfway outside the area, are you in the area? The only rules that help with that are
If the far edge of a square is within the spell's area, anything within that square is within the spell's area. If the spell's area only touches the near edge of a square, however, anything within that square is unaffected by the spell.
So it's up to your GM whether having a portion of the monster's space inside a fireball counts as being inside the fireball. By default, it does. If you want to house rule otherwise, it wouldn't be broken, but apply it consistently (if the PC is enlarged, for instance, he might miss out on a channel energy because he's partially outside its range).
| meabolex |
Citation please...
-- david
Kilbourne wrote:Any portion of any creature that is within the spells area of effect takes full effect from the spell
A burst spell affects whatever it catches in its area, including creatures that you can't see.
If a spell affects a creature, it does what it says it does. Doing anything else is not doing what it says it does.