AOO's and TWF


Rules Questions


If a TWF'er gets an AOO does the -2 for TWF attacks apply (since an AOO only allows one attack- you aren't twfing)

Silver Crusade

You are TWF in that round though. So the penalty applies for the whole round. In a round where you have not used TWF you might make that argument.


No, you don't.

The penalty applies to the attacks made when TWFing, which is an full-attack action. Nothing suggest that the attack penalty continues until your next turn.

Power attack on the other hand lasts until your next turn.


So, one opinion for, one against

Liberty's Edge

You are not attacking with two weapons at once, so no you will not take the penalty. AoO are a separate entity and do not count for action economy or reflect on anything else done in the round. They have their own 'attacks per round' and rules.

PRD wrote:


Two-Weapon Fighting

If you wield a second weapon in your off hand, you can get one extra attack per round with that weapon. You suffer a –6 penalty with your regular attack or attacks with your primary hand and a –10 penalty to the attack with your off hand when you fight this way. You can reduce these penalties in two ways. First, if your off-hand weapon is light, the penalties are reduced by 2 each. An unarmed strike is always considered light. Second, the Two-Weapon Fighting feat lessens the primary hand penalty by 2, and the off-hand penalty by 6.

Your attack penalties are per those attacks, not a general penalty that persists like the AC penalty for power attack. Nothing in this text implies that it is otherwise. It talks of wielding a weapon in your off hand and attacking with both and getting those penalties. If you do not attack with both, you do not get the penalties. Taking an AoO if a single attack, no penalties.


TWF is a full round attack action. You only take the penalties for the purpose of that actions. The penalties are to offset the extra attacks. If you get an AoO you are not attacking with the TWF option so there is no penalty.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

From the Two-Weapon Fighting section of the Combat chapter:

PRD wrote:
If you wield a second weapon in your off hand, you can get one extra attack per round with that weapon. You suffer a –6 penalty with your regular attack or attacks with your primary hand and a –10 penalty to the attack with your off hand when you fight this way. You can reduce these penalties...(blah blah blah)

Note the complete absence of the phrases "for one round", "until your next turn", or any variant thereof, describing the duration of the penalties. It simply says "when you fight this way". Thus, it seems clear that the penalties only apply to the series of attacks of which the extra attack (the one with the second weapon) is a part.

Silver Crusade

Yea, you guys are right. I was thinking about the AOO with bow thread and got my reasoning mixed up.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / AOO's and TWF All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions