Grappling two foes, and flurrying while grappling


Rules Questions


First question: Is it possible for a character to grapple two foes at once?

Let's assume our grappler, Gary, is a human monk.

As far as I understand, you only need a single free hand (or grasping limb) to grapple, if you are humanoid. So, Gary enters a grapple with someone on turn 1 as a standard action. On turn 2, he maintains the grapple as a move action. My question is, if there were a second enemy, adjacent to both Gary and the first enemy, could Gary begin a grapple against that enemy also, without letting go of the first?

Second question: can Gary attack with Flurry of blows on the second turn after initiating a grapple, without losing hold of his enemy?


As Far as i can tell if you have Greater grapple you can Grapple two people. Though it would have to be in 2 consecutive rounds.

A monk who is the victim of a Grapple can Flurry no problem. However if he is in control of the Grapple he cannot Flurry. Since he has to use a move action in the case of greater grapple to maintain he cant do a full round action required to Flurry.

I think if you have Grab Via a Druid Buff though this gives ou the ability to do so somone with more game fu would have to expand on this.


You can take a -8 penalty to the grapple check to succeed at a grapple without gaining the grappled condition. You cannot initiate a grapple while in the grappled condition, and you need at least one hand free.

So you could succeed in confirming two grapples if:

You confirm the first grapple at a -8 penalty
or
You succeed a grapple maintain at a -8 penalty

AND

You have greater grapple, and next round you maintain at -8 as a move, grapple new target as standard (-8 not necessary)
or
You have grab, and take an attack of opportunity and confirm the free grapple check.

If you're flurrying and have lockjaw cast on you... well that's just special. You can attempt to confirm a grapple on any attack that hits, and I don't see anything that says confirming the grapple will end your flurry. And the flurry can be made with any combination of unarmed strikes. It's dirty, and not completely cheese-free, but I doubt many would complain about it.

EDIT: this post is filled with lie.


Gruuuu wrote:

You can take a -8 penalty to the grapple check to succeed at a grapple without gaining the grappled condition. You cannot initiate a grapple while in the grappled condition, and you need at least one hand free.

So you could succeed in confirming two grapples if:

You confirm the first grapple at a -8 penalty
or
You succeed a grapple maintain at a -8 penalty

AND

You have greater grapple, and next round you maintain at -8 as a move, grapple new target as standard (-8 not necessary)
or
You have grab, and take an attack of opportunity and confirm the free grapple check.

If you're flurrying and have lockjaw cast on you... well that's just special. You can attempt to confirm a grapple on any attack that hits, and I don't see anything that says confirming the grapple will end your flurry. And the flurry can be made with any combination of unarmed strikes. It's dirty, and not completely cheese-free, but I doubt many would complain about it.

Thanks for the comprehensive reply


Gruuuu wrote:

You can take a -8 penalty to the grapple check to succeed at a grapple without gaining the grappled condition. You cannot initiate a grapple while in the grappled condition, and you need at least one hand free.

So you could succeed in confirming two grapples if:

You confirm the first grapple at a -8 penalty
or
You succeed a grapple maintain at a -8 penalty

AND

You have greater grapple, and next round you maintain at -8 as a move, grapple new target as standard (-8 not necessary)
or
You have grab, and take an attack of opportunity and confirm the free grapple check.

If you're flurrying and have lockjaw cast on you... well that's just special. You can attempt to confirm a grapple on any attack that hits, and I don't see anything that says confirming the grapple will end your flurry. And the flurry can be made with any combination of unarmed strikes. It's dirty, and not completely cheese-free, but I doubt many would complain about it.

I thought only the grab ability allowed you to grapple someone without gaining the condition yourself, and even then the penalty is -20.


Oh, well, hi there. It's only creatures with Grab that can do that... at a -20. Whoops!

EDIT: @wraithstrike, yeah that's what I get for not fact-checking myself before hitting submit.


Seems i was wrong in my earlier statement didnt know you couldnt initate a grapple while you had the condition.


Well with Ultimate Magic it is now possible to grapple two things at once by using either a witch hex or the spell Strangling Hair (which a monk can get at level 17+

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Grappling two foes, and flurrying while grappling All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions