Utii
|
Hey
I made a Monk lvl 1 with a heirloom Temple sword
and under flurry of blows i can't find any rule that doesn't allow me to use my temple sword twice in flurry of blows.
And as a temple sword is a one handed weapon and flurry of blows works as two-weapon figthing and monk never have a off-hand weapon i guess that i have -2/-2 on flurry of blows then +1 from lvl +1 trait bonus (heirloom) +1 masterworked + str.
is this right or where did i do wrong?
| HappyDaze |
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
You can use any monk weapon with FoB. The flurry works like TWF with regard to penalties but does not require you to use more than one weapon.
If the sword is a monk weapon then you can flurry with it.
Last I checked, there was contention on that point. Some readings (those that place emphasis on the Two-Weapon Fighting text) indicate that the Monk has to use at least two different limbs to make any combination of flurry attacks with monk weapons and unarmed strikes. While you could use unarmed strikes for all of the attacks (since you have more than one limb capable of striking), you could not use a single weapon for all of the attacks (a combination by definition is composed of more than one type of thing).
| concerro |
concerro wrote:Last I checked, there was contention on that point. Some readings (those that place emphasis on the Two-Weapon Fighting text) indicate that the Monk has to use at least two different limbs to make any combination of flurry attacks with monk weapons and unarmed strikes. While you could use unarmed strikes for all of the attacks (since you have more than one limb capable of striking), you could not use a single weapon for all of the attacks (a combination by definition is composed of more than one type of thing).You can use any monk weapon with FoB. The flurry works like TWF with regard to penalties but does not require you to use more than one weapon.
If the sword is a monk weapon then you can flurry with it.
That is incorrect. There is nothing in the rules that states this.
He is allowed to use them in any combination, but he does not have to use two different weapons. The rules says the monk may use a combination, not that he has to. May is a permissive word, not a commanding one. The monk is not using two weapon fighting. He just has to take the penalties in order to get the extra attacks in.Many things on this board are contended that are incorrect. It is mostly people new to the game or having been taught the rules incorrectly.
Flurry of Blows (Ex): Starting at 1st level, a monk can make a flurry of blows as a full-attack action. When doing so he may make one additional attack using any combination of unarmed strikes or attacks with a special monk weapon (kama, nunchaku, quarterstaff, sai, shuriken, and siangham) as if using the Two-Weapon Fighting feat (even if the monk does not meet the prerequisites for the feat). For the purpose of these attacks, the monk's base attack bonus is equal to his monk level. For all other purposes, such as qualifying for a feat or a prestige class, the monk uses his normal base attack bonus.
At 8th level, the monk can make two additional attacks when he uses flurry of blows, as if using Improved Two-Weapon Fighting (even if the monk does not meet the prerequisites for the feat).
At 15th level, the monk can make three additional attacks using flurry of blows, as if using Greater Two-Weapon Fighting (even if the monk does not meet the prerequisites for the feat).
A monk applies his full Strength bonus to his damage rolls for all successful attacks made with flurry of blows, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a weapon wielded in both hands. A monk may substitute disarm, sunder, and trip combat maneuvers for unarmed attacks as part of a flurry of blows. A monk cannot use any weapon other than an unarmed strike or a special monk weapon as part of a flurry of blows. A monk with natural weapons cannot use such weapons as part of a flurry of blows, nor can he make natural attacks in addition to his flurry of blows attacks.
| HappyDaze |
No, a combination by definition is composed of more than one option. A combination lock, for example, with four digits for the lock can have any digit represented by 0-9.
However, all four digits can be 9, and it remains a combination lock.
If you say so, but I have seen more convincing arguments that it requires at least two weapons/unarmed strikes since it must follow the Two-Weapon Fighting rules as noted in the text.
| Pirate |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Yar.
...it must follow the Two-Weapon Fighting rules as noted in the text.
The text does not say that.
The text says "...as if using the Two-Weapon Fighting feat."
"As if" is not the same as "you are". You are not actually Two-Weapon Fighting. You are Flurry Of Blows-ing. The line "...as if using the Two-Weapon Fighting feat." is telling us that it follows a similar mechanic (mainly, if you compare the two different attack styles in detail, the bonus' and penalties to hit and the extra attacks follow the same rules), but they are NOT the same thing.
One is Two-Weapon Fighting (which requires the use of a weapon ion your off-hand).
The other is a Flurry of Blows (which can be made with any combination of a large list of possibilities, including but not limited to, an unarmed strike followed by an unarmed strike followed by an unarmed strike ad nauseam).
~P
| concerro |
Magicdealer wrote:If you say so, but I have seen more convincing arguments that it requires at least two weapons/unarmed strikes since it must follow the Two-Weapon Fighting rules as noted in the text.No, a combination by definition is composed of more than one option. A combination lock, for example, with four digits for the lock can have any digit represented by 0-9.
However, all four digits can be 9, and it remains a combination lock.
Such as?
This is not a new thing. Even the 3.5 flurry allowed you to flurry with a monk weapon.| evilash |
Monks are proficient with the club, crossbow (light or heavy), dagger, handaxe, javelin, kama, nunchaku, quarterstaff, sai, shortspear, short sword, shuriken, siangham, sling, and spear.
When doing so he may make one additional attack using any combination of unarmed strikes or attacks with a special monk weapon (kama, nunchaku, quarterstaff, sai, shuriken, and siangham) as if using the Two-Weapon Fighting feat (even if the monk does not meet the prerequisites for the feat).
Since the text for FoB specifically states what weapons can be used, I would say that unless the weapon specifically states it, RAW is pretty clear that it can't be used to make a FoB even though the monk is proficient with it. I couldn't find any FAQ entry that stated otherwise either.
EDIT: However, I did notice now that the Brass Knuckles, Cestus, and Temple Sword all have the monk note in the Special column of the weapon table, so this would make them special monk weapons making them usable with FoB.
| Pirate |
Yar.
...RAW is pretty clear that it can't be used to make a FoB even though the monk is proficient with it....
Except that the equipment section on weapons under the heading Weapon Qualities also states that:
...some weapons have special features in addition to those notd in their descriptions.
{...}
Monk: A Monk weapon can be used by a monk to perform a Flurry of Blows.
The temple sword IS a monk weapon. Read it's table entry in the APG, and in the special column, you will wee the word "monk". Thus, a temple sword CAN be used in a Flurry of Blows.
(I would give you page number references as well, but my book is not with me ATM)
~P
| Bobson |
Hey
I made a Monk lvl 1 with a heirloom Temple sword
and under flurry of blows i can't find any rule that doesn't allow me to use my temple sword twice in flurry of blows.
And as a temple sword is a one handed weapon and flurry of blows works as two-weapon figthing and monk never have a off-hand weapon i guess that i have -2/-2 on flurry of blows then +1 from lvl +1 trait bonus (heirloom) +1 masterworked + str.is this right or where did i do wrong?
I'll ignore the entire argument over whether you can do this (because I think it's been done to death elsewhere), and address the calculations, since that will actually be helpful. :)
A first level monk has -1/-1 as their Flurry of Blows attack sequence, based on the monk chart. This includes the -2 penalty for flurrying and the +1 BAB from using your class level as your BAB while flurrying. On top of this, you add the +1 from the heirloom bonus, and +1 from the masterwork bonus, and your strength mod. This gives you a total attack sequence of +1/+1 before strength.
Happler
|
Bobson
yep it is true if Temple Sword was a light weapon but this is a 1 handed so i would have -4/-4 + 1 BaB + 1 MwK + 1 Heirloom + 2 Str
leaving me with +1/+1 on my FoB at the end if i am correct.
you do not take the -4 on the temple sword.
+1 bab, -2 Flurry, +1 Mwk, +1 Heiloom, +2 Str = +3/+3
Flurry using monk weapons ignores the main hand/off hand thing since it states:
A monk applies his full Strength bonus to his damage rolls for all successful attacks made with flurry of blows, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a weapon wielded in both hands.
You can also flurry with just one end of a quarter staff and not take the -4, even though you would be using it like a two handed weapon. You would also not gain the damage bonus as a two handed in this case.
| Bobson |
Bobson
yep it is true if Temple Sword was a light weapon but this is a 1 handed so i would have -4/-4 + 1 BaB + 1 MwK + 1 Heirloom + 2 Str
leaving me with +1/+1 on my FoB at the end if i am correct.
What Happler said. But even if you were to pick up the two-weapon fighting feats, and make a non-flurry full attack with a temple sword and unarmed strikes, because the unarmed strikes are treated as a light weapon, you'd only take -2/-2.
But no Pathfinder monk should ever do that.
| Shadow_of_death |
To be honest if he had to use two different weapons then you couldn't use all unarmed strikes. That is all one weapon called "body" or "unarmed" or whatever, thats why you can't make an attack with every limb wielded unlike natural attacks. Hitting with an elbow is the same as hitting with the handle of a sword, it is just another part of the same weapon.
So unless your okay with that I would say anything flurriable is fine on its own.