Wild Shape and Beast Form IV


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Does Wild Shape give a 10th level Druid (or an 8th level Shaman Druid) the ability to mimic the spell Beast Shape IV or was it meant to stop specifically at Beast Shape III?


Well, considering there is never any mention of them being able to turn into magical beasts, there would be no purpose to mentioning beast shape 4.

Beast shape 3 already covers turning into huge animals which is the last upgrade they get for animals.

Liberty's Edge

LordZod wrote:
Does Wild Shape give a 10th level Druid (or an 8th level Shaman Druid) the ability to mimic the spell Beast Shape IV or was it meant to stop specifically at Beast Shape III?

Even if a druid got Beast Shape IV they couldn't use it, they can only assume animal forms, not those of magical beasts.


This is all correct a magical beast is not an animal. The word "beast" confuses people though along with the fact that they look like animals most of the time.


What you can do is using the lvl 9 Druid spell shapechange to emulate beast shape IV (you'd probably prefer to be a giant, dragon or troll with that spell but at least it's possible ^^)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wild Shape and Beast Form IV All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.