Crafting and Caster Level


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

An interesting concept came up in my group last week. At no point in the magic item creation area that we found did it explicitly state that a crafter has to be of a sufficient caster level to create an item. This led to a disagreement with some claiming that logically a crafter has to be at least X level to create an item that functions as if cast at that level, and others claiming that because it was not stated as such in the rules, as long as a crafter can make the requisite skill check at the end of the crafting, his own caster level is meaningless.

Opinions? Official ruling? Text from the rules we might have missed?


GENERALLY, there is no casting level requirement at all. What is stated as "caster level" is the level at which the item operates, what level it has for the purposes of dispelling and such. You don't have to be 17th level to create pearls of power, for instance.

However, there are a few exceptions:
- For spell trigger items (like wands) and spell completion items (like scrolls) you need to be able to cast the spell in question. To craft a scroll of bull's strength, you need to be able to cast it, and thus you need to be 3rd level (unless of a class that has a different casting progression or at a different level). You cannot take the +5 DC to skip this.
- For magic weapons (and armor? don't remember) you need to have a caster level of 3 * the enhancement bonus to craft it. To craft a +3 sword, you have to be 9th level. You cannot take the +5 DC to skip this.

There may be other exceptions, but I don't know any of them. Note that this restriction is NOT on command word or use activated items; boots of haste have no required level, and you can craft it without even knowing Haste for a +5 modifier to the difficulty class.

EDIT: Note that while use-activated items generally don't require you to know the spell, potions seem to be (yet another) exception. The feat itself states that you need to know the spell and have a caster level at least equal to the minimum level to cast the spell. I don't know if this can be skipped with a +5 DC though.


The Rules for Cl honestly are a little fuzzy. In our group we just assume you have to have the appropriate CL to be able to cast the spells needed for an item. (ie lvl 10 to make the 10d6 necklace of fireballs) even if your bypassing knowing the spell.

However this is a balanced houserule in a void rater than any clear raw on the matter.

The onl flaw on this is 1 or 2 items have a Cl clearly waaaaaay below their requisite spells. te +10 perception Elixir needs Truesight but is only i think cl 3 or so.


someweirdguy wrote:

An interesting concept came up in my group last week. At no point in the magic item creation area that we found did it explicitly state that a crafter has to be of a sufficient caster level to create an item. This led to a disagreement with some claiming that logically a crafter has to be at least X level to create an item that functions as if cast at that level, and others claiming that because it was not stated as such in the rules, as long as a crafter can make the requisite skill check at the end of the crafting, his own caster level is meaningless.

Opinions? Official ruling? Text from the rules we might have missed?

There are official FAQ entries and replies by the developers. The most interesting answer is this I believe:

"For potions, scrolls, and wands, the creator can set the caster level of an item at any number high enough to cast the stored spell but not higher than her own caster level. For other magic items, the caster level is determined by the item itself. In this case, the creator's caster level must be as high as the item's caster level (and prerequisites may effectively put a higher minimum on the creator's level)"


Magic item creation thread.
Not again......
Anyway Sangalor is wrong on the second part, there is no general magic item creation rule that state that you must a caster level equal to the item's.
To the OP, you might want to check this FAQ.
Also if you search a little on the forums (especially the rules subforum) i am sure you will be able to find at least a few threads on the subject of magic item creation.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
leo1925 wrote:

Magic item creation thread.

Not again......
Anyway Sangalor is wrong on the second part, there is no general magic item creation rule that state that you must a caster level equal to the item's.
To the OP, you might want to check this FAQ.
Also if you search a little on the forums (especially the rules subforum) i am sure you will be able to find at least a few threads on the subject of magic item creation.

I'm a long time lurker, but I hadn't seen anything specifically detailing this question. Thanks for pointing me in the correct direction.


leo1925 wrote:

Magic item creation thread.

Not again......
Anyway Sangalor is wrong on the second part, there is no general magic item creation rule that state that you must a caster level equal to the item's.
To the OP, you might want to check this FAQ.
Also if you search a little on the forums (especially the rules subforum) i am sure you will be able to find at least a few threads on the subject of magic item creation.

Why am I wrong when I quote a the FAQ? *confused look*

Also, it says explicitely so in the rulebook. Here it is again, this time highlighted for easier reading:
"From Magic Item Descriptions (Caster Level): For potions, scrolls, and wands, the creator can set the caster level of an item at any number high enough to cast the stored spell but not higher than her own caster level. For other magic items, the caster level is determined by the item itself. In this case, the creator's caster level must be as high as the item's caster level (and prerequisites may effectively put a higher minimum on the creator's level). "

Liberty's Edge

Sangalor wrote:

Why am I wrong when I quote a the FAQ? *confused look*

Also, it says explicitely so in the rulebook. Here it is again, this time highlighted for easier reading:
"From Magic Item Descriptions (Caster Level): For potions, scrolls, and wands, the creator can set the caster level of an item at any number high enough to cast the stored spell but not higher than her own caster level. For other magic items, the caster level is determined by the item itself. In this case, the creator's caster level must be as high as the item's caster level (and prerequisites may effectively put a higher minimum on the creator's level). "

The sentence you have in bold was errata'd out. It has a long history of being included by error, in 3.0, 3.5, and PF. In each case, it has been included, removed by errata, and repeated in subsequent editions.


@Sangalor
You weren't wrong about the FAQ (i just posted a link to Paizo's site), you were wrong about the minimum caster level thing. (what Howie23 said)


Howie23 wrote:
Sangalor wrote:

Why am I wrong when I quote a the FAQ? *confused look*

Also, it says explicitely so in the rulebook. Here it is again, this time highlighted for easier reading:
"From Magic Item Descriptions (Caster Level): For potions, scrolls, and wands, the creator can set the caster level of an item at any number high enough to cast the stored spell but not higher than her own caster level. For other magic items, the caster level is determined by the item itself. In this case, the creator's caster level must be as high as the item's caster level (and prerequisites may effectively put a higher minimum on the creator's level). "

The sentence you have in bold was errata'd out. It has a long history of being included by error, in 3.0, 3.5, and PF. In each case, it has been included, removed by errata, and repeated in subsequent editions.

Thanks! Found it now in the errata section. How annoying that such a mistake is repeated again and again...

Then again, this means my characters can finally craft all those juicy items they want. Yay! :-D


To anyone, any idea which printing (in the Core Rulebook) that errata came into effect for the first time?


Hobbun wrote:
To anyone, any idea which printing (in the Core Rulebook) that errata came into effect for the first time?

I want to say 3rd, but i am not sure.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Crafting and Caster Level All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.