Grapple amd monsters with multiple limbs


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I'm not clear with monsters with multiple limbs. When you attack you attack with all limbs, bites and so forth then check against CMD. With the first limb that grabs the PC you do other damage such as constrict, but do you continue to repeat the process till all limbs and bites have attacked?

Do you repeat the process every round with all limbs, or just the first limb that actually grabs the squishy PC?

Shadow Lodge

ShadowDax wrote:

I'm not clear with monsters with multiple limbs. When you attack you attack with all limbs, bites and so forth then check against CMD. With the first limb that grabs the PC you do other damage such as constrict, but do you continue to repeat the process till all limbs and bites have attacked?

Do you repeat the process every round with all limbs, or just the first limb that actually grabs the squishy PC?

Is there anyone that knows the answer to this Q?

Sovereign Court

ShadowDax wrote:
ShadowDax wrote:

I'm not clear with monsters with multiple limbs. When you attack you attack with all limbs, bites and so forth then check against CMD. With the first limb that grabs the PC you do other damage such as constrict, but do you continue to repeat the process till all limbs and bites have attacked?

Do you repeat the process every round with all limbs, or just the first limb that actually grabs the squishy PC?

Is there anyone that knows the answer to this Q?

I believe there is only one grapple check. PF has put everything into a simple CMB vs.CMD Formula.

All limbs, aka bounses to grapple if an,and such would be factored into your CMB at the time the grapple is initated.

That is my basic understanding at this point.


Grappleing is a Standard Action so you can only do it once. Creatures with multiple arms used to get a +2 bonus for every extra set of arms it had, but they did away with that bonus in Pathfinder it seems.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
ShadowDax wrote:

I'm not clear with monsters with multiple limbs. When you attack you attack with all limbs, bites and so forth then check against CMD. With the first limb that grabs the PC you do other damage such as constrict, but do you continue to repeat the process till all limbs and bites have attacked?

Do you repeat the process every round with all limbs, or just the first limb that actually grabs the squishy PC?

In general grapple is a standard action and thus can only be done once per round. The rules work a little differently for creatures with grab, however.

A creature with the grab special attack can generally attack with one of its limbs and, if it hits, deal damage AND get a free grapple attempt (which does not require an additional action).

If the creature attacked as part of a full attack action, and grabbed his foe on the first attack, it may continue to make attacks with the remainder of its attack forms.

For example, an owlbear attacks a hunter.

Round 1: He hits with his first claw attack, initiates a grab for free and succeeds. Both the hunter and the owlbear now have the grappled condition and take the appropriate penalties at this time. Then the owlbear finishes up with his second claw attack (at -2 to hit for being in a grapple) as well as his bite attack (also at a penalty).

The hunter struggles but fails to escape.

Round 2: The owlbear MUST spend a standard action to maintain the grapple if he wishes to maintain a hold. Not even his grab ability lets him avoid this limitation. If he does so, he will be limited to the grapple-only options and not be able to make another full attack. However, he can choose to let go as a free action and repeat his actions from round 1 (claw, grab, claw, bite). This allows him to take advantage of his abilities, and short of a few unlucky rolls, will keep the hunter from escaping.

Shadow Lodge

Thanks a lot folks for your answers. RD, your the man!


Snopaws wrote:
Grappleing is a Standard Action so you can only do it once. Creatures with multiple arms used to get a +2 bonus for every extra set of arms it had, but they did away with that bonus in Pathfinder it seems.

If you use the Xill as a reference, it appears that an extra pair of arms is worth +4 to CMB for grappling.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
DrDew wrote:
Snopaws wrote:
Grappleing is a Standard Action so you can only do it once. Creatures with multiple arms used to get a +2 bonus for every extra set of arms it had, but they did away with that bonus in Pathfinder it seems.
If you use the Xill as a reference, it appears that an extra pair of arms is worth +4 to CMB for grappling.

That's not a blanket rule, however. If a 50 armed creature mentions nothing about grapple bonuses, it doesn't get any.


Actually, I looked at the Kracken for my reference. It doesn't get any bonuses for having 8 arms, only the +4 for grab special.


There's a bit of a debate about all that actually, because of the section of the rules on grab where the grabber has to make a choice whether use only the limb that made the grab, or grapple normally.

I visualise it this way: Imagine a giant squid or octopus attacking Captain Nemo. Monster lashes out at Nemo with a tenticle but misses, lashes out again with another tenticle and hits. Now the beast has a couple options:

1) Let that one tentacle that hit coil about nemo and try to squeeze him to death, leaving his other tenticles free to do other things

2) Throw itself into wrestling nemo, grappling normally.

According to the rules for Grab, option 1 (using just the limb that grabbed Nemo to squeese him) comes with a -20 penalty to the grapple check, but since the rest of the monster's body is free, it doesn't get the grappled condition and (in my view) can finish it's remaining attacks. Option 2 (conducting the grapple normally) the beast has fully committed himself so there is no penaltly to the grapple check, but since the rest of the monster's body is joining in the grapple it gains the grappled condition and (in my view) forfeits any remaining attacks since it's ended it's full round attack in favor of committing fully to the normal grapple.

There's symantic arguments that interpret the 'free grapple' as actually letting the octopus grab AND squeese nemo up to 8 times in succession as part of a full attack action, kind of like a touchy-feely machine gun, without having to treat each tentacle as grappling on it's own, but IMO that interpretation disregards the language and intent of the 'use only the limb that made the grab to grapple' rule which seems there to deal with trying to do just that sort of thing.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Grapple amd monsters with multiple limbs All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions