Summoned Monsters and AoO?


Rules Questions


Might be a question that’s already been answered, but here goes:

When a monster/nature’s alley, etc, is summoned next to an enemy, does that enemy get an attack of opportunity? I couldn’t find anything to say that a newly summoned creature provokes an AOO, but given that a player in my game is a summoner I just wanted to get the message board’s expertise.

Thanks in advance.
Jeff...


Jeffrey Palmer wrote:

Might be a question that’s already been answered, but here goes:

When a monster/nature’s alley, etc, is summoned next to an enemy, does that enemy get an attack of opportunity? I couldn’t find anything to say that a newly summoned creature provokes an AOO, but given that a player in my game is a summoner I just wanted to get the message board’s expertise.

Thanks in advance.
Jeff...

I'd say no because it was teleported into existance like a cleric with the travel domain with dimension hop or dimension door and landing in the area (not moving away as that would provoke AoO to cast the spell) so I see no reason why it would set off an AoO.


Thanks, that's how I was playing it, but I wanted to hear somebody else's take on it.

Liberty's Edge

Jeffrey Palmer wrote:
When a monster/nature’s alley, etc, is summoned next to an enemy, does that enemy get an attack of opportunity? I couldn’t find anything to say that a newly summoned creature provokes an AOO..

No, it doesn't provoke. You didn't find anything because there is nothing. An AoO is provoked when the target either takes a distracting action (which the summoned critter hasn't) or when moving out of a threatened square (which the summoned critter hasn't).

There is sometimes confusion that a creature provokes an AoO if moving into a threatened square, which might be where this is coming from. That doesn't happen in the first place, so is moot.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summoned Monsters and AoO? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions