Question about Traits


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Precocious Spellcaster and Gifted Adept never, anywhere in their description, mention a trait bonus. Not once. Do they stack? If so, why not?


Yes, they would stack.

The spell's effects would manifest two caster levels higher than the character's own. All other aspects of that spell would function at one caster level higher than the character's own.

Dark Archive

Heaven's Agent wrote:

Yes, they would stack.

The spell's effects would manifest two caster levels higher than the character's own. All other aspects of that spell would function at one caster level higher than the character's own.

Thanks!

The Exchange

Nanomd wrote:
Precocious Spellcaster and Gifted Adept never, anywhere in their description, mention a trait bonus. Not once. Do they stack? If so, why not?

No.

APG p. 326 wrote:
Many traits grant a new type of bonus: a “trait” bonus. Trait bonuses do not stack—they’re intended to give player characters a slight edge, not a secret backdoor way to focus all of a character’s traits on one type of bonus and thus gain an unseemly advantage.


However, they are not trait bonuses. They would be identified as such if they were. And even if it were the case, they would still stack; the two traits effect a spell in two different ways, ways that would combine, not overlap.

The Exchange

Heaven's Agent wrote:
However, they are not trait bonuses. They would be identified as such if they were. And even if it were the case, they would still stack; the two traits effect a spell in two different ways, ways that would combine, not overlap.

Traits give trait bonuses, as stated in the text I quoted. It's the only type of bonus they give. So a character cannot take two traits on a level one spell. I don't think it needs to be spelled out for every single trait since it's in the header section for all traits. That means you can't have a CL 3 Magic Missle at character level 1.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Joseph Caubo wrote:
Traits give trait bonuses, as stated in the text I quoted. It's the only type of bonus they give.

Then you're reading the text wrong. It does not state that all bonuses provided by traits are considered trait bonuses. It says that many traits grant such a bonus.

That actually indicates that several of the provided bonuses are not actually trait bonuses. Additionally, when a trait provides a trait bonus, it is always identified as such. Identifying the type of a bonus is true throughout the game, unless a bonus is untyped, in which case it always stacks.


I would not let them stack. I interpret the phrase that "many traits" grant such a bonus refers to those traits, that do not give you any numerical bonus but a special ability such as sacred touch or magical lineage.

However, you could choose both of those mentioned traits and use them on different spells.


Heaven's Agent wrote:
That actually indicates that several of the provided bonuses are not actually trait bonuses. Additionally, when a trait provides a trait bonus, it is always identified as such. Identifying the type of a bonus is true throughout the game, unless a bonus is untyped, in which case it always stacks.

HA's got it; contrast with the benefit of the Focused Mind trait:

PF SRD, Focused Mind Trait wrote:


Benefit: You gain a +2 trait bonus on concentration checks.

As a general rule, bonuses to your spellcaster level are untyped. These two traits stack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about Traits All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions