The Stack


Rules Questions


Question about stacking, would Elemental focus Cold stack with Spell Focus evocation for casting a cold spell from the evocation school? Ray of frost for example would have a DC of 10+0+5+1+1(Spell and elemental focus) for a save...well, that's a bad example becuase RoF doesn't have a save, but you get my point.

Dark Archive

lord_void wrote:
Question about stacking, would Elemental focus Cold stack with Spell Focus evocation for casting a cold spell from the evocation school? Ray of frost for example would have a DC of 10+0+5+1+1(Spell and elemental focus) for a save...well, that's a bad example becuase RoF doesn't have a save, but you get my point.

Yep, they stack.


I figured as much but I wanted to make sure I wasn't missing an errata somewhere that says the bonus from different sources does not stack, like with the keen weapon ability.


lord_void wrote:
I figured as much but I wanted to make sure I wasn't missing an errata somewhere that says the bonus from different sources does not stack, like with the keen weapon ability.

General rule: Named bonuses do not stack (with rare exception), unnamed bonuses stack.


I worded my response wrong, I meant a focus bonus not stacking with each other.


After reading the feats noted in the OP, my next question is: Are the bonuses from these feats "named" bonuses? Neither entry says anything about what type of bonus they provide, only to what the bonus is applied.

Does this then mean that both are unnamed bonus types and therefore do stack after all?

Liberty's Edge

Loja Windcutter wrote:


Does this then mean that both are unnamed bonus types and therefore do stack after all?

Uh...nobody said they didn't stack. That said, yes they stack, and yes them not being specified as a named type of bonus means they're unnamed. That's what 'unnamed bonus' means.


I was commenting back to lord_void referring to the bonuses both as "focus bonuses" implying they were of the same named type. I have not found anywhere else that applies a "type" to them, named or otherwise, so was trying to lead a little bit deeper investigation of the feat description text to find the answer to the OP's question.

I agree with you, they do stack, since they are untyped bonuses.

I often prefer to aid one in finding his own answers rather than give him mine, becuase at the end of all discussions outside my own game, it is someone else's game. It affirms that the asker has made a revelation for use in his own game and everyone is satisfied.

If I have some since of ambiguity and can offer only an opinion, I will state it as such, often with a hint as to the reasoning behind my opinion. Then it is simply up to the asker to agree or disagree with my reasoning and we each go back to our game.

If it is someone in my own game, we settle the difference in the time honored tradition of a duel to the death with sharpened sticks and jagged rocks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / The Stack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions