golem101
|
Would an enemy be allowed a reflex saving throw to avoid falling in the pit if they were moved the 10' by shifting sands?
If the enemy had previously failed the Reflex save to avoid becoming entangled - so that he's entangled in the sands until at least his next turn and save possibility - I'd rule that the shifting sand would automatically drop him into the pit; after all the description of the "Create Pit" spell clearly states that "Creatures subjected to an effect intended to push them into the pit (such as bull rush) do not get a saving throw to avoid falling in if they are affected by the pushing effect."
Given the relative short duration of both spells, I'd be inclined to reward the player's ingenuity and tactical thinking.
| Heaven's Agent |
Yes, such an opponent would be entitled to a Reflex save.
The area of shifting sand cannot be moved into a pit. The spell only functions on "an earthen or sandy surface", which precludes moving it over an open, extradimensional hole. Even if an entangled creature were moved adjacent to the edge of create pit's effect, it would still receive a Reflex save to avoid falling in; the entangled condition does not prevent one from making Reflex saves in this instance.
| Remco Sommeling |
Yes, such an opponent would be entitled to a Reflex save.
The area of shifting sand cannot be moved into a pit. The spell only functions on "an earthen or sandy surface", which precludes moving it over an open, extradimensional hole. Even if an entangled creature were moved adjacent to the edge of create pit's effect, it would still receive a Reflex save to avoid falling in; the entangled condition does not prevent one from making Reflex saves in this instance.
+1, I should add that when in doubt you better allow a save than not, that said I am often inclined to reward creativeness so I might apply a penalty on the save first time around.