Poison Use and Darts


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

I understand that if use a vial of poison is used on your blade that uses it up, but what if you just dab the tip of a dart for use in a blowgun? I doesn't make sense that is uses up the whole vial, does it? You should be able to use it several times, right? I couldn't find anything in the rules about using partial poison vials anywhere.


Sure you can use less on the dart....

Please note that means it is useless.

After all you need the same amount of poison to get the effect regardless of the delivery system used.

Liberty's Edge

Abraham spalding wrote:

Sure you can use less on the dart....

Please note that means it is useless.

After all you need the same amount of poison to get the effect regardless of the delivery system used.

Ahh got it. Thanks, I hadn't though it that way.


By the same token, one dose is very small, and could be used on a dart as well as any other weapon.

If you miss with the dart and recover it later, is the poison still effective?


By the book? Probably not. By common sense? Depends on what the dart hits when it misses the target. Bounce it off a cave or dungeon wall and it could still have the poison coating. Embed it in a tree or in the dirt and the poison will get wiped off. It is really up to your GM whether the poison still coats it or not.

As for a vial of poison only coating one dart? Not in my settings. The same amount of poison that can coat the entire blade, or even half the blade, of a long sword is going to coat more than just one dart or one crossbow bolt or one arrowhead.


Enevhar Aldarion wrote:

By the book? Probably not. By common sense? Depends on what the dart hits when it misses the target. Bounce it off a cave or dungeon wall and it could still have the poison coating. Embed it in a tree or in the dirt and the poison will get wiped off. It is really up to your GM whether the poison still coats it or not.

As for a vial of poison only coating one dart? Not in my settings. The same amount of poison that can coat the entire blade, or even half the blade, of a long sword is going to coat more than just one dart or one crossbow bolt or one arrowhead.

I understand your logic there, and agree that it's situational. If the dart bounces off a wall and hits the floor, there's probably enough poison left for you to reuse it (assuming it doesn't evaporate or whatever too quickly. It wouldn't last for days).

The "poison on a sword" thing is a little tricky. Does the poison take effect with one hit? If so, and it's distributed along the length of the blade, then not all of the poison entered the wound, unless you ran your enemy through. If you rolled a 1 for damage, it's more of a nick than a lethal wound, yet the poison works, is used up and off your blade, and can't affect any other targets.

If drow can use poison on hand crossbow bolts, I see no reason why characters can't do the same with arrowheads or darts.

I'm over-complicating it, I guess, but a dose is a dose, and poison is poison. A little dab'll do ya! ;)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Poison Use and Darts All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions