Trapsmith Rogue for Pathfinder Society


Advice

Scarab Sages

I'm considering making a gnome trapsmith rogue for pathfinder society....

1. Did I miss the rule somewhere saying I can't do this?

2. My understanding of the Quick Trapsmith rogue talent is that I can take a full-round action to place a trap (I'll mostly be using bear traps since they are the only traps w/o ridiculous prices) in a location... at which point it will go off if someone is standing in that location?

3. if they fail there DC for Perception on the trap... do I get sneak attack damage on the attack roll?

4. will this idea be fun? My other two characters are lvl 3 and 4 (barbarian and wizard) and they are totally legit... this gnome is just going to be fun to play =D


It appears legal enough; except part 3. Why do you have the impression you get to add sneak attack damage to traps? Please point it out for me.

Scarab Sages

Diego Winterborg wrote:
It appears legal enough; except part 3. Why do you have the impression you get to add sneak attack damage to traps? Please point it out for me.

I'm making an attack roll with a trap and they are flat footed...

I know this one is debatable I was just trying to find some RAW one way or the other.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Mcarvin wrote:
Diego Winterborg wrote:
It appears legal enough; except part 3. Why do you have the impression you get to add sneak attack damage to traps? Please point it out for me.

I'm making an attack roll with a trap and they are flat footed...

I know this one is debatable I was just trying to find some RAW one way or the other.

If you made a trap that has a Attack roll, it is the Trap making the Attack roll not you.

Anyway, this is a Pathfinder RPG rules question, not a PFS question. You would get more people to answer it if you put it in the RUles forum not the PFS forum.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Dragnmoon wrote:
Mcarvin wrote:
Diego Winterborg wrote:
It appears legal enough; except part 3. Why do you have the impression you get to add sneak attack damage to traps? Please point it out for me.

I'm making an attack roll with a trap and they are flat footed...

I know this one is debatable I was just trying to find some RAW one way or the other.

If you made a trap that has a Attack roll, it is the Trap making the Attack roll not you.

Anyway, this is a Pathfinder RPG rules question, not a PFS question. You would get more people to answer it if you put it in the RUles forum not the PFS forum.

+1

You ninja'd my response. The player may be making the roll, the trap is making the attack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Trapsmith Rogue for Pathfinder Society All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.